Do my non-flying creatures get all the abilities from Concerted Effort as well?

Asked by soli83 3 years ago

If i have a creature that doesn't already have flying does it still get fear, first strike etc. from Concerted Effort ?

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #1

What? The abilities granted from concerted effort are meant to share amongst your creatures. If you have 1 flying creature then all your creatures gain flying. Then you check if you have one with fear and, if you do, all your creatures gain fear. You do it for each ability mentioned on the card. However if you don't already have a creature with the ability, you don't get it. So if you have a flyer and a creature with first strike, all your creatures get flying and first strike, but none gain landwalk/protection/double strike/fear/trample/vigilance.

March 18, 2016 6:58 p.m.

Concerted Effort "checks" to see what static abilities your creatures have. They can have any assortment of any and/or all the abilities listed on the Concerted Effort, it's not dependent on a creature having flying.

To elaborate, if none of your creatures have flying but one of them has double strike, all your creatures will get double strike.

When this card says "the same is true for 'this' and 'this' and 'this' etc...", for clarity, you can replace the "flying" instance in the ability with each other ability listed on the card.

March 18, 2016 7 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

When an effect says "the same is true for NN", it means go back to the previous statement and replace the relevant functional word there with NN to get the rest of the effect. For Concerted Effort, this means:

  • At the beginning of each player's upkeep, all creatures you control gain fear until end of turn if a creature you control has fear.
  • At the beginning of each player's upkeep, all creatures you control gain first strike until end of turn if a creature you control has first strike.
  • etc.
March 19, 2016 1:08 a.m.

This discussion has been closed