Do creatures that ETB with +1/+1 counters count as having increased power and toughness for the use of Evolve?

Asked by RoyLancaster 5 years ago

Lots of blue, lots of links. Be prepared, and stick with me. I'll appreciate it.

Say I have a Master Biomancer and a Cloudfin Raptor on the field. The Cloudfin Raptor is already a 5/6. I play a Corpsejack Menace . Due to the Master Biomancer , the Corpsejack Menace comes in as a 6/6. Does this trigger the Cloudfin Raptor to evolve again, due to the new power of the Corpsejack Menace being 6? Or does the Cloudfin Raptor stay as a 5/6 because the Corpsejack Menace card states that it has a power and toughness both lower than the Cloudfin Raptor 's?

Secondary, less important, follow-up question:

Assuming that, in the above scenario, the Corpsejack Menace does indeed evolve the Cloudfin Raptor , would the Corpsejack Menace 's ability start before or after the Cloudfin Raptor 's evolve triggering? Essentially, if the Cloudfin Raptor evolves, would it become a 6/7 or a 7/8, the latter due to the Corpsejack Menace 's ability being in play before the evolve mechanic occurs?

JewsStoleMyName says... Accepted answer #1

For the first question, as far as I know based off how evolve and Master Biomancer are worded, the creature enters the battlefield with the +1/+1 counters on it, then evolve checks that the power or toughness of Corpsejack Menace are higher than the power/toughness of Cloudfin Raptor . So it would trigger evolve.

And for the second, your answer is here:

http://tappedout.net/mtg-forum/general/corpsejack-menace-summon-evolve/

It's something I had to look up for myself recently.

June 23, 2014 4:44 a.m.

This discussion has been closed