Discarding and the Stack

Asked by AkrosTheClear 11 months ago

If I find a way to make someone discard a card at instant speed (the combo I had in mind was Tidehollow Sculler and Vedalken Orrery ) and I do it in response to them casting their last card, does my Tidehollow Sculler have no effect or does it effectively counter their spell?

babushkasara says... Accepted answer #1

Once someone casts a card it's no longer in their hand. You can't retroactively remove the spell from the stack and put it back in their hand to force a discard. Rule 601 describes the very first step of casting a spell as moving the card from where it is (usually the hand) to the stack.

June 11, 2018 11:39 p.m.

Please login to comment