DFC and Face Down

Asked by Grrvvpp23 4 years ago

Hi there,

What happens when an effect like Inverter of Truth makes you exile a double faced card, does it have any special rule or the down face of the DFC will be the visible part? And if so, if you after got processed with a card like Blight Herder the card would come back with the other side of the card to your graveyard? Thanks!

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

711.9d As the checklist card enters a public zone, the checklist card should be set aside and the double-faced card used instead. If the checklist card is exiled face down, its identity should continue to be hidden using the face-down checklist card.

This is for when you have the checklist card.

When you don't represent the DFC with the checklist card, then youyou can only play the DFC in a completely opaque sleeve. When you exile that DFC face-down, it will be in exile so that the back side of the sleeve is showing, so the identity of the card is hidden.

When the face-down DFC is put into the graveyard with Blight Herder, you put it face up there - you cannot have facedown cards in your graveyard, except for some very rare and old cards, which will never be a problem.

March 18, 2016 7:36 a.m.

Note that if a DFC is face down perhaps from being manifested, it will not have any attributes of its flip side (the side currently face-up). It will have whatever attributes given to it by the effect that brought it into play face down.

All cards have a default state: untapped, face-up, un-flipped, and phased in. Whenever a card isn't on the battlefield, it reverts to its default state, unless otherwise restricted. (See Pyxis of Pandemonium).

March 18, 2016 10:26 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

"Face down" for cards in exile isn't the same as the "face down" status for cards on the battlefield. For example, a face down card in exile isn't automatically a 2/2 creature with no name, type, or mana cost. It has no characteristics at all. Being face down in exile just means that the face of the card (or both faces for a DFC) is hidden from view.

March 18, 2016 3:41 p.m.

I know, I wasn't saying they are the same. Just that they both exist.

March 18, 2016 4:38 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

I didn't say you were. I was offering another answer to the original question because I felt there was still more left to explain.

March 19, 2016 1 a.m.

Oh ok. It's sometimes hard to tell through text what someone is trying to mean.

March 19, 2016 2:28 a.m.

This discussion has been closed