Devotion and what can be played on turn one

Asked by dumbbros 4 years ago

I actually have 2 small questions so I figured that I would group them together. I have looked around on Google but can not find the answers I am looking for, so hopefully someone here will be able to help me out.

  1. On a card like Gray Merchant of Asphodel would the 2 black mana in his own cost count towards his effect?

  2. What exactly can be done on the very first turn of the game? I know I can play a land but could I also cast a spell like Duress or Lightning Bolt?

Thanks for your help.

billpasdmf says... #1

  1. Yes. For the 'enter the battlefield' trigger of Gray Merchant of Asphodel , it will "see" itself enter, so its BB in the casting cost will count towards your total devotion.

  2. You can play those spells any time you would normally be able to play them, including on the first turn. There's no restrictions on what you can do, provided you can pay the costs and are playing the spells within their normal restrictions. Duress (sorcery) can be played on either of your main phases and Lightning Bolt (instant) can be played anytime you receive priority.

June 18, 2014 2:02 p.m.

filledelanuit says... #2

  1. Yes. The trigger checks how mana black mana symbols are on permanents your control when it goes to resolve so as long as gary is still alive his mana symbols will count.

  2. There are no limits one what spells you can play on the first turn as long as you can pay their casting costs. The only card I know of that limits what turn you can play it on is Serra Avenger .

June 18, 2014 2:04 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

@billpasdmf: Your answer to question 1 is correct, but for the wrong reasons. Whenever a spell or ability requires information about the game state, that information is determined on resolution. Gray Merchant of Asphodel doesn't add its mana symbols to an intangible "devotion counter" as it enters the battlefield. Rather, its ETB triggered ability counts your devotion to black when it (the ability) resolves.

As for question two, there are no rules limiting what actions you can take during turn #X. Actions are limited by timing and priority within turns, not by turn count. Some actions, such as playing a land or activating a loyalty ability of a permanent, may only be taken once per turn, but there's no restriction governing the number turn it must be before you can begin taking those actions.

June 18, 2014 2:07 p.m.

dumbbros says... #4

@ billpasdmf, lordoftheshadows, and Epochalyptik, thanks for clearing that up!

June 18, 2014 3:54 p.m.

Devonin says... #5

So far as I know, the only card which is limited in some way based on what turn it is would be Serra Avenger .

June 19, 2014 8:48 a.m.

This discussion has been closed