Devotion and Combat

Asked by Araj 10 months ago

So the god cards function off the new devotion mechanic, requiring 5 mana to become creatures. Let's say that my opponent has a Hammer of Purphoros , a Boros Reckoner , and Purphoros, God of the Forge on the field. He swings in with the reckoner and purphoros and in response I cast Celestial Flare causing him to sacrifice the reckoner. Does purphoros still deal damage? Or is he no longer a creature and thus cannot deal any damage? Thanks for the help!

raithe000 says... Accepted answer #1

Purphoros will stop being a creature and will be removed from combat.

September 17, 2013 12:02 a.m.

Denial048 says... #2

At the moment, I assume that, due to Purphoros no longer being a creature, he will not deal damage.

Once the Theros FAQ has been released, we will be able to answer this question without guesswork.

September 17, 2013 12:23 a.m.

raithe000 says... #3

The FAQ has been released. You can access it here: http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/faq/ths

and I just copied what it said.

September 17, 2013 12:27 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@Denial048: The Theros FAQ is not necessary in this case. The Gods have static abilities that cause them to change types depending on the game state. If your devotion to red ever drops below five, Purphoros, God of the Forge will stop being a creature.

Also, devotion requires you to have mana symbols in the mana costs of permanents you control. This is different from requiring mana, which would make the Gods function like Figure of Destiny .

September 17, 2013 12:29 a.m.

Please login to comment