Asked by raphton 2 months agoSo I know that Devoted Druid and Vizier of Remedies make infinite mana together. My question is how to disrupt this combo once both of them are on the field and not summoning sick. The tapping of the druid doesn't use the stack and can therefore not be answered with removal. The placing of the -1/-1 counter can however be answered by removal, could the controller of the druid just decide to put another arbitrarily big amount of counters on the druid in response? Thus still gaining infinite mana before the removal spell resolves by tapping the druid for mana between resolving each instance of untapping?
As you correctly identified, you'll have to respond to the untapped ability because the mana ability doesn't use the stack. Further, you're correct that your opponent can just reactivate the untap ability if you respond to it.
You would need a spell with split second to stop your opponent from reactivating the ability.
May 16, 2017 10:04 a.m.
Yes this works exactly how you explained it. It seems like you understand already how this works but you were hoping it doesn't lol
If you try to answer (removal/damage/whatever) your opponent placing a -1/-1 counter on the Druid, then yes, your opponent can respond to your attempt to disrupt the combo by simply using the ability again. They will get whatever amount of mana they want, and creatures may die once your answer resolves, but they'll still have the mana.
You could try Sudden Death or Sudden Shock to kill the Druid, or you could even disrupt the combo for a turn by using Sudden Spoiling or Wipe Away, so anything with Split Second would help disrupt it, but in the absence of this, they would get the mana yes. If they can't use the mana immediately with a permanent on the battlefield and if they aren't holding an instant that would use it, Glorious End will help.
But yes, it is a very difficult-to-disrupt combo.