Desecrated Tomb with tokens interaction question

Asked by htffan951852 11 months ago

So I have a question regarding the rulings of tokens when they hit the graveyard.

So there is a new card coming out in core set 2019 by the name of Desecrated Tomb which states that when a creature leaves the graveyard, you get a 1/1 flying bat. So when a token hits a graveyard, does it leave the graveyard right away or what exactly happens? Would you get a bat token every time a token goes to the graveyard?

rob_shifflett says... #1

That would be self perpetual. I am going to go out on a limb and say no.

June 12, 2018 8:05 a.m.

SteelSentry says... Accepted answer #2

It actually states whenever one or more creature cards leave your graveyard. Tokens are not cards, so they will not make more tokens.

June 12, 2018 8:22 a.m.

Boza says... #3

Steel Sentry is entirely correct on that one. It cannot actually say creatures - creatures exist only on the battlefield. On the stack, they are creature spells. In every other zone, they are creature cards.

June 12, 2018 8:32 a.m.

Please login to comment