Defensive Formation

Asked by -Orvos- 3 months ago

The answer is probably explained in my question but I don't understand some of the finer points of MTG rules so I'm asking...

If i had a 0/1 blocking a 20/20 with trample and i had Defensive Formation in play could I assign all combat damage to the 0/1 token or would I be required to just assign the one damage to the token and the rest to me because of the trample?

the cards errata on gatherer is: "Rather than the attacking player, you assign the combat damage of each creature attacking you. You can divide that creature's combat damage as you choose among any of the creatures blocking it."

note 1: Damage assignment choices from Trample and other things which allow alternative damage assignments for attacking creatures are all made by you.

note 2: With the exception of ignoring the damage assignment order, you follow all the normal rules for damage assignment.

GearNoir says... Accepted answer #1

Perhaps this will help:

  • 702.19b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures thats being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage thats actually dealt. The attacking creatures controller need not assign lethal damage to all those blocking creatures but in that case cant assign any damage to the player or planeswalker its attacking.
January 8, 2017 6:35 p.m.

-Orvos- says... #2

that rule doesn't clarify whether or not you can assign more than lethal damage. Is it against the rules to assign more than lethal damage to a creature?

January 8, 2017 6:59 p.m.

Lame_Duck says... #3

"Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking."

You're not required to deal trample damage to the player, you can choose to assign all of the damage to the blockers.

January 8, 2017 7:06 p.m.

-Orvos- says... #4

So I can assign all 20 dmg to the 0/1 then! Thank you for repointing that part out to me... Haha I missed it.

January 8, 2017 7:14 p.m.

Please login to comment