Darksteel reactor & abyssal persecutor in multiplayer

Asked by Sam_I_am 3 years ago

Suppose I'm playing a multiplayer game. If I have an Abyssal Persecutor , and an opponent has a Darksteel Reactor with 20 charge counters on it, Since, my Abyssal Persecutor says that my other opponent can't lose the games, does that the player with Darksteel Reactor doesn't actually win the game?

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

Relevant rule:
104.3h. In a multiplayer game, an effect that states that a player wins the game instead causes all of that players opponents to lose the game.

That player will indeed not win the game, as your other opponent can't lose the game. However, you lose the game, causing the Persecutor to leave the game. Then, the Reactor's ability will be put on the stack once again (it's trigger conditions are still met), and this time, each opponent of it's controller really will lose the game.

August 27, 2015 10:44 a.m.

BlueScope says... #2

For completeness' sake, the reason why the Reactor triggers again:

603.8. Some triggered abilities trigger when a game state (such as a player controlling no permanents of a particular card type) is true, rather than triggering when an event occurs. These abilities trigger as soon as the game state matches the condition. They'll go onto the stack at the next available opportunity. These are called state triggers. (Note that state triggers aren't the same as state-based actions.) A state-triggered ability doesn't trigger again until the ability has resolved, has been countered, or has otherwise left the stack. Then, if the object with the ability is still in the same zone and the game state still matches its trigger condition, the ability will trigger again.

August 27, 2015 10:47 a.m.

Sam_I_am says... #3

It's only been 25 minutes since I've posted this, and An answer has already been marked as accepted by someone other than me.

August 27, 2015 11:05 a.m. Edited.

Epochalyptik says... #4

The answer given is complete and correct and contains all necessary rules quotes. I tend to periodically clear the Q&A of such questions throughout the day. If you believe your question has not been answered or if you have a followup question, you're welcome to state as much. Otherwise, I don't see a problem.

August 27, 2015 11:49 a.m.

This discussion has been closed