Damage with Everlasting Torment

Asked by zandl 4 years ago

I'm currently in a bit of a rules spat with a friend.

I have out Everlasting Torment and Repercussion . I cast Anger of the Gods while he has a board full of creatures. Obviously, those creatures each get three -1/-1 counters on them, but does Repercussion trigger? He says it doesn't because damage isn't marked on the creatures, so no damage is being dealt. I say it does because the damage is the -1/-1 counters now.

Who's right?

zandl says... #1

I mean, the reminder text says so, but that's clearly not good enough for him.

April 4, 2015 8:25 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

702.79a Wither is a static ability. Damage dealt to a creature by a source with wither isnt marked on that creature. Rather, it causes that many -1/-1 counters to be put on that creature. See rule 119.3.

Damage is still dealt, even if the kind of damage being dealt isn't the kind that normally would have been. Wither is still damage, so wither damage will trigger Repercussion. It doesn't matter whether the damage is marked or not; only that it is dealt.

April 4, 2015 8:28 p.m.

This discussion has been closed