Crucible of the Spirit Dragon + Facedown Morph Dragons?

Asked by TypicalTimmy 2 years ago

I pay (3) to cast Acid-Spewer Dragon face down. As such he is a typeless, colorless 2/2 with no abilities.

Can I tap Crucible of the Spirit Dragon to remove storage counters for black mana to morph him over? In his current state as a face down creature, he isn't technically a dragon.

Also secondary question: Does Dragonlord's Servant reduce the (3) down to (2) for casting him face down? My understanding is that yes, it'll reduce the casting cost but not the morph cost (I'll still need to pay 7 to flip him over).

Neotrup says... #1

You cannot use Crucible of the Spirit Dragon to turn a face-down creature face-up because you can only use mana produced by the crucible to cast dragon spells and activate abilities from dragons, and morph is a special action, not an activated ability. You cannot use the crucible to pay for triggered abilities like that of Hellkite Charger either.

You cannot use Dragonlord's Servant to reduce the cost of casting a morphed spell because it is a creature spell with no type, not a dragon spell. You also cannot use the servant to reduce the cost to turn it face-up, because that is not a spell cost, even when paying the card's casting cost to turn it face-up with a manifest ability.

February 26, 2017 3:25 p.m.

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #2

About your first question: Whether he's a dragon in either state actually doesn't matter - Morph isn't an activated ability, but a special ability, and therefore, Crucible's mana can't be spend to pay for its cost.

As for your second question: It reduces neither cost. When you cast it as a face-down creature, it's not a Dragon spell, and when you use the Morph ability, you're not paying for a spell at all.

February 26, 2017 3:27 p.m.

BlueScope says... #3

Ninja'd.

Also, check out the Gatherer rules on Crucible:

Notably, turning a face-down creature face up isn't an activated ability. If you manifest a Dragon creature card or cast a Dragon creature card face down using the morph ability, you can't use mana generated by the last ability to turn that card face up.

February 26, 2017 3:28 p.m.

Please login to comment