Creeping chill top deck activation

Asked by crash328 9 months ago

So I like the interesting ability of Creeping Chill but I have a question. If you had say Precognition Field and you cast chill from the top of your deck instead of your hand would its second ability trigger?

Rhadamanthus says... #1

Unfortunately no. When you cast Creeping Chill this way, it moves from the library to the stack. That means it moves from the stack to the graveyard after it resolves and the second ability doesn't trigger.

December 11, 2018 11:25 a.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #2

No it would not.

While Precognition Field lets you cast instants and sorceries from the top of your library (so they don't have to be in your hand), part of the process of casting a spell is moving it to the stack, which is a different zone from the library. So Creeping Chill would be going from the library to the stack and then to the graveyard, and thus the "put into your graveyard from your library" condition is not met and the second ability won't trigger.

December 11, 2018 11:27 a.m.

Please login to comment