Copying spells with "name a card" in their text

Asked by Xephon_ 1 year ago

Just a simple question. If I cast a sorcery/instant such as Cabal Therapy or Unmoored Ego which has some variation of the rules text "name a card", and copy that spell with a copying effect such as from Swarm Intelligence , do I get to choose a new card name for each copy, hence the text "choose new targets for the copy"?

DragonKing90 says... #1

the card you're naming isn't the target of the spell. with Cabal Therapy and Unmoored Ego, the target is the opponent, not the card. so if you copy it with something that says "choose new targets for the copy", you would be selecting another player, not another card. if i remember correctly, if a spell that requires a choice is copied, the choice made for the original is also made for the copies, automatically. at the very least, i know this applies to mana costs involving "X". if a spell with X in the cost is copied for example, the copies have the same value of X.

September 26, 2018 7:50 p.m.

dragonstryke58 says... Accepted answer #2

To be clear, though, the "Name a nonland card" part does not target. Only effects which specifically say "target" do (aside from Equip and Auras when on the stack). "Name a nonland card" is part of the effect of the card and happens upon resolution from the stack.

For Cabal Therapy and Unmoored Ego the only target is a player. If you had Swarm Intelligence or any other spell copier make a copy of the spell, you would simply choose a player for the spell to target as you put the copy on the stack.

As the copy is separate spell on the stack from the original spell, upon resolution of the copy, you can name a card, then name a different card for the resolution of the original spell (the copy is put on the stack above the original spell, so it will resolve first).

September 26, 2018 7:58 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

For cards like those the naming the card is part of the resolution. You can name a different card for the copy just as you could name a different card if you cast the spells twice. It doesn't have anything to do with changing targets since neither of the named cards target.

Also of note since you seem like you might be unaware; since you don't name a card until resolution, a player cannot wait until the card is named before deciding if they want to counter it. Though naming a card before they have an opportunity to respond won't make the spell uncounterable, you do have to allow time for responses.

September 26, 2018 8 p.m.

Xephon_ says... #4

Thanks for the responses everyone! I guess I was a little mixed up. However, even though I stated it incorrectly, my underlying point of being able to name different cards is still valid since I'm able to name a different card for each copy of the spell upon resolution? Just making sure that I have that right.

September 26, 2018 8:50 p.m.

Neotrup says... #5

You are not only allowed to make a different choice, but because it's on resolution you end up making a choice, looking at their hand (and library depending on the card), then making a second choice with full knowledge of what they have.

September 26, 2018 10:51 p.m.

Please login to comment