Comeuppance / Protection from White

Asked by davesol 4 years ago

My opponent was playing a mono-white deck and had 8 life. I gave one of my creatures protection from white and attacked him for 8 with it. In response he cast Comeuppance .

He argued that Comeuppance would not deal any damage back to my creature due to the protection but that it would prevent the damage to his life. I argued that since the creature had protection from white, Comeuppance could not prevent it's damage.

Who is correct?

Thanks

ekim32 says... Accepted answer #1

When it comes to protection, remember DEBT. A protected object or player cannot be

  • dealt Damage by,
  • Enchanted or Equipped by,
  • Blocked by, or
  • Targeted by

a permanent, spell, or effect whose source matches the traits protected from.

The damage prevention Comeuppance provides does not fall into any of these categories. It does not target or block your creature, or anything for that matter.

As your opponent correctly says, your creature has protection from the damage dealt by Comeuppance, as it is dealt by the spell which is a white source.

April 30, 2015 8:33 a.m.

ekim32 says... #2

To be clear: your opponent is correct in this case.

April 30, 2015 8:34 a.m.

This discussion has been closed