clone a commander

Asked by jaggthemiller 5 years ago

so i really only play commander now and the rule for commander damage is a SINGLE commander has to do 21 damage to a person and hes out but i was wanting to know what if you clone that commander. is it the same commander or the ''clone'' has to do 21 damage as well

my idea :: Splinter Twin copy my commander, do damage and if the answer is NO then next turn when the clone is out again does it still count as the same one from the previous turn

GoblinsInc says... #1

Being a commander is not a copiable characteristic. The card that is your commander is a commander, and same with your opponent's. This is not transferred nor copied with cards such as clone, and is not removed with things like turn to frog.

February 9, 2015 2:53 a.m.

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #2

903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones.

Example: A commander that's been turned face down (due to Ixidron's effect, for example) is still a commander. A commander that's copying another card (due to Cytoshape's effect, for example) is still a commander. A permanent that's copying a commander (such as a Body Double, for example, copying a commander in a player's graveyard) is not a commander.

February 9, 2015 2:55 a.m.

jaggthemiller says... #3

oh alright so it just becomes a creature not the commander got it =)

February 9, 2015 3:09 a.m.

Luutamo says... #4

Also, you should take legendary rule into consideration so you can't make a copy of your commander without losing the original.

February 9, 2015 7:23 a.m.

BlueScope says... #5

Luutamo: Small correction: You can - if you choose to sacrifice the copy instead of the commander.

February 9, 2015 12:39 p.m.

Luutamo says... #6

BlueScope yeah, but there would be no point on doing all that wouldn't there.

February 9, 2015 1:30 p.m.

jaggthemiller says... #7

yes i actual;ly remembered that right after posting this =) thanks

February 9, 2015 3 p.m.

BlueScope says... #8

Luutamo: Well, besides chosing the original commander over a copy to save 2 if you did make the copy, you could make use of ETB effects such as Lavinia of the Tenth. Not very likely, but certainly realistic.

February 9, 2015 5:27 p.m.

This discussion has been closed