Chaining manamorphose and noxious revival

Asked by Unlife 3 years ago

I'm working on a modern deck based on the idea of using cards like Monastery Swiftspear and trigger a lot of prowess. I'm still fuzzy on things on the stack so my question is this, if I cast a Manamorphose to add two mana to my mana pool and then draw a card, can I respond to the draw trigger with by casting Noxious Revival to put Manamorphose on top of my library and drawing it, or has Manamorphose not hit the yard yet? Thanks in advance

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

The draw is not a trigger. It's part of the spell's effects. Once a spell or ability begins resolving, players lose priority until the resolution process is complete. Only after Manamorphose completely resolves do you get priority again.

Additionally, an instant or sorcery spell is put into its owner's graveyard only as the last step of its resolution process. Manamorphose is not yet in the graveyard while it's resolving.

November 9, 2015 10:19 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

A spell does not go to the graveyard until it has finished resolving. As such Manamorphose is not in the graveyard until after it has finished resolving. Additionally you can not add objects to the stack while something is resolving. So you can not do anything between the two mana from Manamorphose being added to your mana pool and drawing the card.

November 9, 2015 10:20 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

Once a spell starts resolving you have to wait until it's finished before anyone can make responses. The card draw on Manamorphose isn't a trigger (triggered abilities always start with "when/whenever/at"), it's simply part of the spell's effect. Also, the spell isn't put into the graveyard until it's completely finished resolving. The line of play in your question doesn't work as described.

November 9, 2015 10:21 p.m.

This discussion has been closed