Cards on the stack are not "in hand"-- correct?

Asked by Metroid_Hybrid 3 years ago

Say I have a Nyxathid under my control, and my "chosen" opponent has 4 cards in hand; therefore it's effectively a 3/3 at the moment.. If at this point, one of those cards is a Lightning Bolt, and they decide to cast that said Lightning Bolt targeting my Nyxathid; does that card technically leave their hand thus causing the aforementioned Nyxathid to become a 4/4 BEFORE the Lightning Bolt has a chance to resolve?

I know this is a rather fundamental thing, but I want to make absolutely for certain that I understand this card before I commit to using it, because I can foresee the above scenario possibly becoming an issue.. So if someone could cite the rulebook as well, I would greatly appreciate it :)

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, you have the right idea. The first step in casting a spell is taking the card from where it is to the stack. Your Nyxathid will be a 4/4 as soon as they cast their bolt. Nyxathid 's 2nd ability constantly updates checking the player's handsize, even when a spell is being cast or an object on the stack is resolving.

June 30, 2014 1:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed