Can you combo Kin-Tree Invocation and Shape the Sands?

Asked by doctorsmegma 5 years ago

So I've been toying with Assault Formation and I've decided that Kin-Tree Invocation and Shape the Sands are crucial to the deck.

I just need to get something straight... here is my hypothetical situation/question:

Now lets say I use Shape the Sands on Disowned Ancestor during my first main phase for whatever reason. But I also have a Dragon's Eye Savants in play. Shape the Sands resolves no problem and combat ends.

Now during my second main phase, I use Kin-Tree Invocation. Since the Kin-Tree's power/toughness is a 1 time cast and does not fluctuate (as stated in the rules), would he become a 9/9 because the Disowned Ancestor has a toughness of 9 from Shape the Sands? Or would the Invocation become be a 6/6 from the Dragon's Eye Savants?

Slycne says... Accepted answer #1

Kin-Tree Invocation will be a 9/9. Nothing about its ability cares that Disowned Ancestor will shrink down at the end of the turn, it gets locked in at whatever the highest toughness is right at the moment it's resolving.

April 1, 2015 10:36 a.m.

doctorsmegma says... #2

I figured as such. I just wanted to verify before looking like an idiot mid-game. haha.

April 1, 2015 10:45 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

In the future, please remember to select an answer to remove your question from the active queue.

April 1, 2015 3:44 p.m.

flightningf says... #4

This is probably a nob question but... Does Kin-Tree Invocation add up all the toughness of your creatures on the board? Or does it just copy the toughness of one creature on the board?

September 1, 2015 3:31 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Please check the list dates before commenting. This thread is several months old. It's better to start a new question than reply to an old one, especially if your post isn't directly relevant to the discussion.

Kin-Tree Invocation looks for the "greatest toughness among creatures you control," which means that it looks for the single greatest toughness from among the creatures you control. It doesn't add anything.

September 1, 2015 3:34 p.m.

This discussion has been closed