Can Spellbreaker Behemoth save Zendikar Incarnate from being countered?

Asked by Bobby654 4 years ago

Here's the scenario. I have Spellbreaker Behemoth in play. I have 5 lands out when I play Zendikar Incarnate making him a 5/4 with his effect. But my opponent tries to Essence Scatter Zendikar Incarnate Does Zendikar Incarnate go to the grave, or does the fact that my lands are making him a 5/4 mean he's protected thanks to Spellbreaker Behemoth ?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Zendikar Incarnate has a characteristic-defining ability, which functions in all zones. Zendikar Incarnate's power is always equal to the number of lands you control, regardless of where Zendikar Incarnate is.

So Essence Scatter will resolve, but it won't do anything because its target is uncounterable.

August 24, 2015 9:05 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #2

Spellbreaker protects him since has at least 5 power

22/06/2015 The ability defining Zendikar Incarnates power works in all zones, not just the battlefield. Zendikar Incarnates power changes as the number of lands you control does.

August 24, 2015 9:05 p.m.

Bobby654 says... #3

Thanks for the help. I just wasn't sure about creatures with a star in their power or toughness slot and them being safe from countering cards

August 24, 2015 9:11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed