Can planeswalkers be indestructible and what would that mean?

Asked by Jindo 3 years ago

would using the first ability of Memnarch with any planes walker ie: Karn Liberated while Darksteel Forge is on the field make the planeswalker an artifact and indestructible? In addition what would indestructible do for the planes walker? would it prevent damage dealt to it by creatures or would it negate cards like Hero's Downfall only?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

An indestructible planeswalker would survive a Planar Cleansing or Hero's Downfall or such effect that says destroy. However, whenever a planeswalker is dealt damage, that many loyalty counters are removed, indestructibility doesn't stop that from happening.

306.8. Damage dealt to a planeswalker results in that many loyalty counters being removed from it.

When a planeswalker has 0 loyalty counters on it, it's the equivalent of a creature having 0 toughness. Indestructible or not, a creature with 0 toughness dies as a state based action. If a planeswalker has 0 loyalty counters, it is put into its owner's graveyard as a state based action.

306.9. If a planeswalkers loyalty is 0, its put into its owners graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

January 20, 2016 7:13 p.m.

And yes, using Memnarch's first activated ability can turn a planeswalker into an artifact in addition to its other types. So in your example, it would be: "Artifact Planeswalker - Karn". If you had Enchanted Evening in play as well, it would be: "Artifact Enchantment Planeswalker - Karn"

They both affect all permanents on the battlefield, and a planeswalker is a permanent so it's a valid object.

January 20, 2016 7:16 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

To address a point in the question, indestructibility does not prevent damage. Rather, it changes the outcome of damage. A creature with lethal damage marked on it is destroyed as a state-based action. An indestructible permanent isn't destroyed; the damage simply remains marked on it until the end of the turn.

Because damage isn't prevented, indestructible doesn't really help a planeswalker all that much. It only matters in cases where you have actual destroy effects.

January 20, 2016 7:19 p.m.

This discussion has been closed