Can Marchesa protect herself?

Asked by MartialArt 6 years ago

If I have Marchesa, the black rose out and she has a +1/+1 counter. Does she come back again? And what happens if somebody plays a mass destruction spell? Does she still protect my creatures with counters?

Devonin says... #1

There are no official rulings on her as she isn't not yet actually in print, but given how every other card works that is worded that way:

Yes, each creature dying creates a delayed triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of the end step. As long as she is on the battlefield when the creature dies, they will come back, even if she's no longer on the battlefield at the end step.

Mass creature removal allows each dying creature to see each other dying creature die, and so will trigger even though she's in the midst of dying herself.

May 25, 2014 5:57 p.m.

PrimeEpoch says... #2

If you could +1 answers, I would +1 that.

May 25, 2014 6:02 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

There is no need to have specific rulings on Marchesa. The full text of rule 603.6d reads:

Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. Continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities must be treated specially. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a permanent phases out, abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library, abilities that trigger specifically when an object becomes unattached, abilities that trigger when a player loses controlof an object, and abilities that trigger when a player planeswalks away from a plane will trigger based on their existence, and the appearance of objects, prior to the event rather than afterward. The game has to look back in time to determine if these abilities trigger.
Example:Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life. Someone plays a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifacts ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owners graveyard at the same time as the creatures.

Since her relevant ability reads: Whenever a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it dies, return that card to the battlefield at the beginning of the next end step. She has a leaves-the-battlefield ability that will see anything that dies at the same time she does, including herself since it says " a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter" not "another creature you control with a +1/+1 counter"

May 25, 2014 7:20 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #4

Darn it I forgot to close the italics tag. If someone who has the power to edit comments could close it immediately after the quoted rule that would be awesome.

May 25, 2014 7:23 p.m.

Drilnoth says... #5

, Closed the italics.

May 25, 2014 8:35 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

@Gidgetimer: Got it.

May 26, 2014 12:55 a.m.

MartialArt says... #7

Thanks a lot.

This makes my deck a bit more stable.

May 26, 2014 6:05 a.m.

This discussion has been closed