Can Last Chance be Diverted to the opponent?

Asked by vasarto77 7 months ago

The Card Last Chance , Can I play a Divert or Swerve and divert the effect of this spell to my opponent to make them lose the game? Even tho it does not say target player, you MUST target yourself with that spell's effect should you not? Since you are the target of the spell, should it not be able to do this?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Spells don't target unless they specifically use the word "target" and when a spell or ability says "you" it means the controller of the spell or ability. A spell with 0 targets can not be retargeted.

August 6, 2018 11 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

No, it doesn't work that way. A spell or ability only has targets if it specifically uses the word "target" somewhere in its rules text. Last Chance doesn't have targets and won't be affected by Divert, Swerve, etc.

August 6, 2018 11:01 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

You would need something like Sundial of the Infinite or Time Stop to end the turn (skipping straight to the cleanup step) in order to get out of losing to Last Chance. You still wouldn't be able to force an opponent to lose that way.

August 6, 2018 1:27 p.m.

vasarto77 says... #4

dang it.

August 6, 2018 2:32 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #5

You would have to give control of the spell to your opponent. Don't know if there is anything that does that currently. But Hive Mind and anything that let's you end your extra turn works.

August 7, 2018 11:21 a.m.

Please login to comment