can i use Replenish to bring back Animate Dead and enchant a creature in the graveyard?

Asked by metalmustaine 11 months ago

and also bring back other enchantments from the graveyard with Replenish

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. From Gatherer:

" Animate Dead is an Aura, albeit with an unusual enchant ability. You target a creature card in a graveyard when you cast it. It enters the battlefield attached to that card. Then it returns that card to the battlefield, and attaches itself to the card again (since the card is a new object on the battlefield). Animate Dead itself never moves into a graveyard during this process."

TLDR is that Animate Dead simply "pulls" the creature from the graveyard. The only weird thing is that you do not target the card in the graveyard whe you bring it back with Replenish, but that will almost never have any applications.

January 9, 2018 9:59 a.m.

To outline what Boza meant with that last point, if you pull Animate Dead into play with Replenish, you can still reanimate a creature even if Ground Seal is in play.

January 9, 2018 6:41 p.m.

Please login to comment