Can I name a card not in my deck when casting Demonic Consultation ?

Asked by Ryotenchi 4 years ago

My intention is to resolve a Laboratory Maniac then cast Demonic Consultation to mill myself out. Naming say Storm Crow which wont be in my deck.

Is this a legal action?

(If I must have a legal target in my deck, I can take care of that.)

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

Your only requirement as per the card is to name a legal magic card (both in terms of being an actual Magic card and being legal in the format you are playing) and make sure every opponent knows what card you are searching for i.e. "that 1/2 bird creature that has become an iconic meme for no apparent reason" would suffice in most cases.

There is no necessity to name a card in your deck:

201.3. If an effect instructs a player to name a card, the player must choose the name of a card that exists in the Oracle card reference (see rule 108.1) and is legal in the format of the game the player is playing.

April 1, 2015 6 a.m.

Ryotenchi says... #2

Boza The reason for the Storm Crow meme is that its overpowered cause it can be pitched to Force of Will. Similarily, Island is also the most powerful card in mtg... and so on. XD

too stronk!!

I couldnt find a ruling when I googled, I tried several different combinations of words.. Just failed. TYVM!

Its not that the list Im putting together needs it. Its just another win condition and I just wanted to make sure it worked without casting a Doomsday first. :3

April 1, 2015 6:05 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note that you'd still need a way to draw, as milling out doesn't automatically result in a game loss (or win, in this case). Also, nothing targets objects in hidden zones.

April 1, 2015 3:39 p.m.

Ryotenchi says... #4

oo, Noted Epochalyptik. >.<

April 1, 2015 3:56 p.m.

This discussion has been closed