Can I cast Rootborn Defenses without having any tokens in play? and still be able to protect my creatures?

Asked by KrisLoom186 5 years ago

Will I still be able to protect my creatures without tokens from all removal spells?

Chubbub says... Accepted answer #1

Sure, populate says put a copy of a token you control on the battlefield, so you just copy nothing and give all of your creatures indestructibility.

December 30, 2012 3:36 p.m.

Urto says... #2

Because populate does not actually target anything, the spell won't fizzle in any fashion as a result of controlling no tokens when you cast it.

December 30, 2012 3:41 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

@Urto: Note that if populate was targeted, you couldn't begin to cast Rootborn Defenses because you can't cast a spell without naming enough legal targets.

December 30, 2012 6:18 p.m.

TraRobins says... #4

You do not need to actually have a token to resolve any populate effect. It just does nothing.

December 31, 2012 1:58 a.m.

This discussion has been closed