Can I cast an instant spell before a creature's ability with "At the beginning of your upkeep" resolves?

Asked by Jester87 2 years ago

Let's assume that I have Lost Auramancers into play with one left time counter on it that I'm going to remove in my turn so as to sacrifice it and search in my library for an enchantment card. Can I target Lost Auramancers with Cauldron Haze before removing last time counter?

Affinity_for_MTG says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, you gain priority during your upkeep, so you can cast instants then, before anything happens.

Even if Lost Auramancers Vanish ability triggers (say, if you are playing on Magic Online) when that ability goes on the stack, you still have a chance to respond to it, so if Lost Auramancer triggers and tries remove its last counter, you can play Cauldron Haze and it will resolve first, and then the Vanish trigger will try to resolve with no effect.

So, short answer, YES INDEED! :)

September 4, 2017 7:44 p.m.

Neotrup says... #2

The ability does go on the stack before you receive priority (and state based actions are checked before that), but yes, you can respond to the ability once it's put on the stack before you resolve it (which in this case means removing a vanishing counter). You can also wait for the first vanishing trigger to resolve and remove the last counter triggering the second vanishing ability (the sacrifice one) and respond to that before it resolves.

September 5, 2017 12:45 p.m.

Please login to comment