Can I "Blood Rush" and activate a "Heroic" ability?

Asked by bearstein12 4 years ago

I attack with Akroan Crusader and then could I "Blood Rush" with Ghor-Clan Rampager setting off the Heroic 1/1 red soldier ability and adding +4/+4 with trample?

TJMadMan says... #1

Akroan Crusader
Ghor-Clan Rampager

Yes, you can. The bloodrush effect says "target attacking creature", therefore targetting your Akroan Crusader , giving +4/+4, trample, and spawning a 1/1 token w/ haste.

October 4, 2013 1:41 a.m.

bearstein12 says... #2

@TJMadMan ok cool I just didn't know if the ability bloodrush counted as a spell or not...Thank you!

October 4, 2013 1:44 a.m.

raithe000 says... Accepted answer #3

No, you cannot. Heroic only triggers off spells. Bloodrush is an ability (one that works from hand, like cycling, but still an ability) and therefore does not trigger heroic. Your Akroan Crusader will only get +4/+4 and trample.

October 4, 2013 1:44 a.m.

bearstein12 says... #4

That's what I was thinking man @raithe000 Thanks for clearing things up a bit

October 4, 2013 1:45 a.m.

TJMadMan says... #5

oh, sorry about that! I completely read over the word "spell" in the heroic text xD
I read it as: "Whenever you target..." Sorry!

October 4, 2013 1:52 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

Please remember to select an answer when your question has been sufficiently addressed.

Also, heroic is a triggered ability. Triggered abilities trigger; they aren't activated.

October 4, 2013 1:56 a.m.

TJMadMan says... #7

@Epochalyptik did you mean heroic? because bloodrush is an activated ability, is it not?

October 4, 2013 2:01 a.m.

bearstein12 says... #8

Oops sorry just joined and thank you @Epochalyptik

October 4, 2013 2:28 a.m.

This discussion has been closed