Can Furyblade Vampire Utilize it's power buff ability to crew a vehicle and have that vehicle attack?

Asked by SmugLookingBarrel 2 years ago

Let's say I have Aradara Express and Furyblade Vampire in play. I go to combat, and I get the furyblade trigger, discarding a card to make the vampire a 4/2. If I then tap the vampire to crew the Aradara Express , can I attack with the express?

pskinn01 says... #1

Yes. This is due to the fact that there are steps to the combat phase. And this happens before you have to declare attackers, and you get a chance to do abilities (such as crew) or cast other spells before you must declare what is attacking.

October 14, 2016 12:11 a.m. Edited.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #2

To elaborate, the combat phase is made up of 5 unique steps:

  1. Beginning of combat step

  2. Declare attackers step

  3. Declare blockers step

  4. Combat damage step

  5. End of combat step.

Furyblade Vampire's trigger happens during the first step, the beginning of combat step.

During the beginning of combat step, you may activate Crazy Train's Crew 4 ability by tapping your now 4/2 Furyblade Vampire, which turns it into an artifact creature, and proceeding to declare it as an attacker in the following step.

October 14, 2016 3:47 a.m.

This discussion has been closed