Can From Beyond look for All Is Dust
Asked by servatar 5 months ago
I think it should but in the gatherer page for the card specifies that it must look for a creature card, but in the text for From Beyond doesn't say so.
There isn't anything on From Beyond that mentions needing it to be a creature in the official text.
This ruling on the card is relevant; it is visible towards the bottom on either of those links: "An Eldrazi card is one with the creature type Eldrazi. Just having “Eldrazi” in its name or being an Eldrazi-themed card doesn’t count."
May 11, 2019 1:38 p.m.
The word "Eldrazi" on the type line for Eldrazi Conscription and All Is Dust is actually a creature type, even though the cards themselves aren't creature cards. These two cards are Tribal cards (as seen on the type line as well), which can have creature types even though they aren't creature cards. Tribal things first appeared in Future Sight, and were expanded on in Lorwyn block.
If something tells you to look for a "(Subtype) card," as long as the card has that subtype on the line, it doesn't matter what it's card type is.
From the rules:
- 308.2. Tribal subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: “Tribal Enchantment — Merfolk.” The set of tribal subtypes is the same as the set of creature subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types. Tribals may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3m for the complete list of creature types.
May 11, 2019 1:49 p.m.
In the future, please remember to hit the "Mark as Answer" button once your question has been resolved. Not only does this signal to other users that you have no follow-up questions, but it also helps keep the unanswered questions list clear of resolved questions and helps future users quickly identify the correct answer.
Since this question has been answered for a couple days, I have marked an answer on your behalf.