Can Deserts ability be used multiple times if made untapped?

Asked by UniqueUserID 3 years ago

Thought I'd better check this one, end of combat step and stacks for some reason behave differently in my head.

Anywho can I use Desert s ability multiple times providing I untap it each time? Eg- with many Deserted Temple s?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Yes you can.

608.1. Each time all players pass in succession, the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves. (See rule 609, Effects.)

116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

116.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that players mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.

the above rules allow you to activate Desert's ability and let it resolve before activating Deserted Temple to do it again.

Rule 408.1c The player with priority may either play a spell or ability, or pass. If he or she plays a spell or ability, the player again receives priority; otherwise, his or her opponent receives priority.

This above rule also gives you the option to rapidly activate the abilities multiple times in succession in response to each ability on the stack.

November 15, 2015 4:21 p.m.

Busse says... #2

Positive, as long as you can untap the Desert during that phase, you can keep on tapping it for 1 damage as many times as you can untap it.
Cheers!

November 15, 2015 4:23 p.m.

UniqueUserID says... #3

Thanks dudes! Time to finish that desert deck!

November 15, 2015 4:31 p.m.

This discussion has been closed