Can Animar reduce the 2 extra mana that I have to pay when summoning my commander? (EDH Question)

Asked by ThatGuy_OhWhatsHisName 2 months ago

I was wondering if I could reduce the cost of my commander (Sliver Overlord) when I summon him after he is put back in the commander zone and I have to pay the additional 2 mana each time.

Animar, Soul of Elements's ability states:

  • Creature spells you cast cost 1 less to cast for each +1/+1 counter on Animar.

I was wondering if that ability reduced the 2 mana I have to pay.

I thought it would but I am not so sure now. Any help would be much appreciated. Also, check at my deck here:

Kurt's Hive For Colourful Sliver (Casual EDH)

Commander / EDH* ThatGuy_OhWhatsHisName


chosenone124 says... Accepted answer #1

601.2f. The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost.

Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs.

The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions.

So you add the commander increase and minus the Animar, Soul of Elements discount. It works

January 9, 2018 5:15 a.m.

Thanks chosenone124! That helps me a lot

January 10, 2018 12:21 a.m.

Please login to comment