Can a creature be targeted with a spell that gives it hexproof when a opponent counters it?

Asked by electric012 4 months ago

So say you have a card like walking ballista and you cast it, but before it is on the battlefield someone counters it and then you use blossoming defense to give it hexproof, is it not able to be countered even when it hasnt entered the battlefield?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Hexproof only applies to permanents so it does nothing to prevent a spell from being countered. Also Blossoming Defense targets a creature, not a creature spell or creature card. When an object is referred to by only it's type (creature, artifact, land, enchantment, etc.) it means a permanent on the battlefield. Objects on the stack are (type) spells and objects in any other zone are (type) cards

February 13, 2018 6:47 a.m.

Please login to comment