Basic Lands in Colourless EDH

Asked by Sikening 3 years ago

I'm sure the answer to this is no, but I'll ask anyway; is it legal to put a basic land, such as a Mountain in a colourless EDH/Commander deck (such as Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger )?

Follow up question: Is it ok to put a card such as Transguild Promenade in a colourless deck, as it taps for one of any colour (and colourless isn't a colour)?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

All basic lands used to have the text "add (mana symbol) to your mana pool), it's now implied but still technically there. So since basic lands contain color identities outside of your commander's, they can't be run in the deck. Now if you gained control of one, perhaps from Oblivion Sower, it would merely produce colorless instead of the intended color.

Question 2: lands that tap for any color, such as Transguild Promenade, but not Command Tower (because it'd be useless), are fine to run in colorless. They will just produce colorless instead of the chosen color.

October 5, 2015 2:03 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Basic lands are not legal in a colorless Commander deck.

903.5d A card with a basic land type may be included in a Commander deck only if each color of mana it could produce is included in the commanders color identity.

Note that basic land types implicitly confer the ability to tap for one mana of the appropriate color, and this means that they change the color identity of the card.

Transguild Promenade is legal because it does not have any colors in its color identity.

October 5, 2015 2:05 p.m.

MotherMoose says... #3

The only basic land you can run is Wastes

July 19, 2016 5:50 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@MotherMoose: Although this is now true, please note that this thread originated almost a year ago, before the introduction of Oath of the Gatewatch and Wastes.

July 19, 2016 5:57 p.m.

MotherMoose says... #5

@ Epochalyptik ya I figured but just wanted to let OP know just incase

July 19, 2016 6:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed