Austere Command and Totem Armour...what gets saved?

Asked by CaoJin 1 year ago

Hi all!

I've just recently decided to dip my toes into enchantress with Estrid, the Masked in EDH.

Really enjoying the deck so far now it's had a few upgrades but we had an interaction recently with Austere Command that had a couple of us scratching our heads regarding her mask tokens.

If the modes destroy all creatures and all enchantments were chosen and I had both creatures and enchantment cards with masks attached, would the totem armour protect the enchanted permanents or would they both get destroyed at once?

I was under the impression they would both get removed at once but one of the other players wasn't too sure.

Thought I'd have it clarified on here as to how totem armour would behave in this situation.

Thanks in advance!

From Gatherer rulings:

6/15/2010 If a spell or ability (such as Planar Cleansing) would destroy both an Aura with totem armor and the permanent it’s enchanting at the same time, totem armor’s effect will save the enchanted permanent from being destroyed. Instead, the spell or ability will destroy the Aura in two different ways at the same time, but the result is the same as destroying it once.

August 16, 2018 3:04 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

Austere Command will destroy the mask tokens, then it will destroy the creatures. When you resolve a modal spell you resolve the chosen modes from top to bottom. You also won't be destroying all creatures as that's split into two modes.

If destroy all artifacts and enchantments is chosen, the artifacts will be saved by totem armor. Enchantments will always be saved as they are destroyed at the same time.

August 16, 2018 3:12 p.m.

My bad. Neotrup is right here.

Also from Gatherer:

Each of the chosen modes happens sequentially. If a permanent has an ability that triggers whenever it or another permanent is destroyed, it will see permanents destroyed at the same time as it or before it, but not permanents destroyed by later modes.

So Austere Command is a bit of a weird case, but for nonmodal stuff like Nevinyrral's Disk, Hour of Revelation, etc, the previous ruling would apply.

August 16, 2018 3:31 p.m.

Please login to comment