Attacking and Regenerating

Asked by evilbunny6009 3 years ago

I declared my Leonin Skyhunter as attacking then my opponent responds with a Doom Blade . I then respond with a Dawn Charm , regenerating my creature. Does my opponent still take 2 from the leonin skyhunter as it was destroyed but regenerated?

JWiley129 says... Accepted answer #1

No, part of the rules of Regeneration is that if the creature was in combat it is removed from combat if it is destroyed. So your Leonin Skyhunter will not be destroyed, but it will not hit your opponent.

December 9, 2015 8:55 a.m.

701.12a If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case, Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.

December 9, 2015 12:53 p.m.

This discussion has been closed