At the beginning of next end step

Asked by Ninong 4 months ago

have a minor disagreement about the interpretation of rules with a player in our group with the card text -- At the beginning of the next end step...--- that occurs on cards such as Marchesa, the Black Rose or Inalla, Archmage Ritualist

I interpret the text as being ---Sequentially, when the active player’s End Step occurs”---. As in, at the end of the active player’s turn, this effect will trigger.

He interprets this as ---- Colloquially - not at the end of this turn, but the turn after ---- (like, not this Sunday, but NEXT Sunday). So, at the end of the following player’s end step the turn will occur.

I understand the confusion from both sides. If I am wrong in my interpretation, I would like to understand why this is. If my friend is incorrect, I would like to be able to show him why this is the case according to the rules.

Thank you in advance.

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

Both of you are correct, depending on timing.

If the ability of Inalla is triggered during the upkeep phase, draw phase, any main phase or any part of the combat phase, it will exile the token at the beginning of the active player's end step.

If the ability is triggered during the end step of an active player, it will exile the token at the beginning of next player's end step.

February 12, 2018 9:30 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

The "next ____ step" means whatever the next instance of that step happens to be. When the game next comes to an end step, regardless of whose it is, you'll execute those instructions.

Notably, if you end the current turn and skip the active player's end step, "next end step" abilities will trigger on the following turn's end step (assuming it occurs as normal).

February 12, 2018 1:22 p.m.

I feel like this has been covered pretty sufficiently, but just to Reiterate:

There are 10 steps in a turn, divided into 5 phases.

The Beginning Phase, which contains: The Untap Step, the Upkeep Step, and the Draw Step.

The Pre-Combat Main Phase.

The Combat Phase, which contains: The Beginning of Combat Step, the Declare Attackers Step, the Declare Blockers Step, the Combat Damage Step, and the End of Combat Step.

The Post-Combat Main Phase.

And the Ending Phase, which contains: The End Step, and the Cleanup Step.

"At the beginning of the next end step" means exactly that, verbatim. The next time an end step occurs, the ability is put onto the stack. If it is currently an End Step when this kind of Delayed Triggered Ability is created, then it will trigger at the beginning of the following End Step. If it is created earlier in a turn, then it will trigger at the end step of the current turn, unless something happens to prevent this turn from having an end step.

February 12, 2018 3:42 p.m.

Neotrup says... #4

An important interaction here is that if you have both Marchesa, the Black Rose AND Inalla, Archmage Ritualist, if a wizard with a +1/+1 counter that dies during combat, Marchesa will bring it bring it back at the end step of the turn it died, triggering Inalla to make a copy that will stick around during the entirety of the next turn, being exiled during that turns end step.

Also, if a card wants to trigger on a specific turn's end step, it will specify, such as Oracle en-Vec. It can also specify a specific player's end step, such as Stone Idol Trap.

February 13, 2018 12:43 p.m.

Ninong says... #5

Thank you. My friend understands now.

February 14, 2018 10:30 a.m.

Please login to comment