are tap abilities instant?

Asked by zigkid3 6 years ago

are tapped creature abilities instant?

I was seeing about maybe combining a Splinter Twin with a Haze Frog

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

You're allowed to activate an ability any time you have priority, can pay the costs, and can choose enough legal targets for it (if any). If the ability doesn't have anything in the text restricting the times you're allowed to play it (like Birthing Pod ), then yes, you can play them any time you'd normally be able to cast an instant.

July 13, 2011 12:26 p.m.

arobidoux says... #2

Tap abilities are able to be used during anyones turn, so yes they are considered used at instant speed, however; you need to keep in mind that if you were to play the Haze Frog on your turn, for whatever reason, and you played the Splinter Twin on it the same turn, you would still have to wait a full turn to use it as the Haze Frog would still have summoning sickness...

However if you were to cast the Haze Frog at the end of your opponents turn and then on your turn play the Splinter Twin on it you would be able to tap it that turn as the creature it is enchanting would have been under your control since the beginning of your turn and would not have summoning sickness...

Tap abilities of enchantment - aura cards are still dependent on the creature they are enchanting having summoning sickness or not...

Same with tap abilities of creatures as well...

July 13, 2011 12:31 p.m.

deadmanwalking says... #3

yes, tap abilities are instant, and Haze Frog + Splinter Twin is a legit combo, as is Haze Frog + Mimic Vat .

July 13, 2011 4:19 p.m.

This discussion has been closed