Are Patron of the Kitsune's Lifegain triggers separate or combined?

Asked by SaltySpecula 3 months ago

With the card Patron of the Kitsune , the second ability reads "Whenever a creature attacks, you may gain 1 life."

Does this ability trigger separately for each individual attacking creature on the board? ( 3 attacking creatures, 3 separate ability triggers of +1 life ), or does it see 3 attacking creatures and add 1 trigger of +3 life?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

They trigger separately. If events cause an ability to trigger multiple times simultaneously, the triggers aren't combined into a single ability. They're all put onto the stack as separate objects and will resolve separately from one another. In your example this can matter a lot, as it affects how Patron of the Kitsune interacts with cards like Ajani's Pridemate and Archangel of Thune.

March 20, 2017 11:44 p.m.

SaltySpecula says... #2

Indeed, I thought that might be the case and I just wanted to make sure. I was specifically hoping to abuse Archangel of Thune with this. ;)

Thanks for that!

March 20, 2017 11:52 p.m.

Please login to comment