Activated abilities in response to that creatures death?

Asked by Deathbloom 8 months ago

If an opponent would do something to cause the death of my Slimefoot, the Stowaway , could I sacrifice Saprolings to my Thallid Omnivore in response and still get the effects of Slimefoot?

Would I gain both the 2 life from the Omnivore and the 1 from Slimefoot?

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #1

Under ordinary circumstances, yes, you can respond to something that removes Slimefoot, the Stowaway from the battlefield. For example:

  • Opponent casts Go for the Throat targeting Slimefoot, the Stowaway.
  • Go for the Throat is now on the stack, but has not resolved. Priority passes to you to respond.
  • You may do anything you could do at instant speed, including activate Thallid Omnivore. Those activation go on top of the stack.
  • Slimefoot, the Stowaway is still on the battlefield and sees your Saproling creatures die, adding a new triggered effect to the top of the stack.
  • When no player has any additional responses (priority has passed between all players without action) the top item on the stack, your Thallid Omnivore activation, resolves.
  • Items are resolved from the stack in last-in-first-out order, or "down" the stack, until we get to Go for the Throat, where it resolves and Slimefoot, the Stowaway is moved to your graveyard.

There are cases where you cannot respond, or points at which it is too late to respond; as when a creature dies from a state-based action like combat damage, an opponent controls a situational prohibition effect like Grand Abolisher, or when the spell has split second like Sudden Death.

May 13, 2018 6:54 p.m.

FancyTuesday says... #2

In step 5 I should say that the top of the stack is your Slimefoot, the Stowaway trigger, then your Thallid Omnivore activation. Technically those two items go on the stack at the same time, so you can order them how you like.

May 13, 2018 7:03 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

Slimefoot, the Stowaway's triggered ability will always go on the stack above Thallid Omnivore's activated ability, because it's the activation of the ability that causes the trigger.

May 13, 2018 10:30 p.m.

FancyTuesday says... #4

Neotrup is correct on that point. I was treating it like multiple triggered abilities instead of one activated and one triggered ability. Here's the rules lawyer parts to explain:

  • An ability triggering doesn't put it on the stack, it goes on the stack the next time a player receives priority.

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered abilitys trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesnt do anything at this point.

603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object thats not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 116, Timing and Priority. The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until its countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

602.2. To activate an ability is to put it onto the stack and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Only an objects controller (or its owner, if it doesnt have a controller) can activate its activated ability unless the object specifically says otherwise. Activating an ability follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the activation of an ability, a player is unable to comply with any of those steps, the activation is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that ability started to be activated (see rule 721, Handling Illegal Actions). Announcements and payments cant be altered after theyve been made.

May 13, 2018 10:49 p.m.

Deathbloom says... #5

Thanks for the clarity!

May 14, 2018 7:35 a.m.

Please login to comment