about Ilusive Spellfist

Asked by Antoniobizarro 4 years ago

I'm using this card in a deck, and I got 2 questions about Elusive Spellfist :

1 - The card says "Whenever you CAST a noncreature spell,...". Does it mean that even if my spell is countered, Spellfist will get +1/+0 and become unblockable?

2 - This ability activates by casting a Sorcery, Instant, Noncreature Artifact, Planeswalker and/or Enchantment card, right? I mean, these cards are all SPELLS until they resolve and become permanents or go to the graveyard.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

  1. Even if the spell is countered, the triggered ability is separate from the spell itself. You cast Divination, the Elusive Spellfist's ability goes on top, resolving independently of the spell.

  2. Any spell that is cast, as long as its type does not include the creature type, it will trigger the Spellfist's ability.

October 10, 2015 8:20 p.m.

Antoniobizarro says... #2

cool! thanks for helping! =)

October 10, 2015 9:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note that the ability does not activate. It's a triggered ability, so it triggers.

October 10, 2015 10:59 p.m.

Antoniobizarro says... #4

oh yeah, that's what I wanted to say! "trigger", not "activate". thanks.

October 10, 2015 11:21 p.m.

This discussion has been closed