+1/+1 and -1/-1 cancel each other?

Asked by gabethatguy 5 years ago

If a +1/+1 counter is placed on a creature with a -1/-1counter (or vice versa) are they both removed? Or are they both there? If my Kitchen Finks has a minus one minus one and I put a plus one plus one on it, can it be persisted again? Or does it just die?

They would cancel each other out. So Kitchen Finks would be able to persist again.

March 29, 2015 9:29 a.m.

gabethatguy says... #2

Nice. Thanks!

March 29, 2015 12:20 p.m.

gabethatguy says... #3

IF ANYONE DISAGREES WITH ABOVE USER PLZ TELL ME I WANT MULTIPLE ANSWERS. Not that i dont believe dingdong up there. Just wanna make sure. Thanks

March 29, 2015 12:21 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

121.3. If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it as a state-based action, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it. See rule 704.

Note that if a creature with a +1/+1 counter on it is given enough -1/-1 counters at one time to kill that creature, it will die with both the +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it, and persist and undying will not trigger for it. For example, if you have a Young Wolf with a +1/+1 counter and your opponent resolves Black Sun's Zenith for X=2, your Young Wolf will be given two -1/-1 counters. It will die as a state-based action at the same time the counters are removed, so its last known state on the battlefield will be that it had both kinds of counters on it. Its undying ability will not trigger.

March 29, 2015 1:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed