Does this work the way I think it does?
Posted on Oct. 31, 2019, 12:09 a.m. by Kavle
So I was building a deck that is trying to use Necromancer's Magemark and bestow creatures for value. I started looking into cost reduction effects and found Starfeild Mystic, which seems awesome in the deck, but then I saw Blood Funnel .
So in doing some research into the bestow mechanic, found this page: https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Bestow
It states that if a card is cast for it's bestow cost it becomes an enchant aura, but if it's target becomes illegal (like dying or being exiled) it changes into an enchantment creature and resolves.
So my questions are if I cast a card for it's bestow cost will Blood Funnel reduce it's cost since it's being cast as an aura? And if so, when I cast a card for it's bestow cost, Blood Funnels sacrifice trigger will go onto the stack above the bestow card right? Which means if I sacrifice the creature it's targeting it will then just turn into a creature also right? If this works I think I might try an build some weird aristocrat style deck lol.
theres a rules q&a section of the site for questions like these.
a creature with bestow is a creature when you cast it, and doesn't become an aura until its on the stack, which is after being cast and costs are paid. as such, Blood Funnel will not reduce the cost.
October 31, 2019 1:06 a.m.
just out of curiosity, what is the value of Necromancer's Magemark and bestow creatures?
October 31, 2019 1:13 a.m.
not sure what you mean by "bestow a creature with bestow". and reuse it how? if a creature with bestow is attached to a creature and that creature dies, the bestow creature becomes a creature by itself anyway. theres no interaction between Necromancer's Magemark and bestow creatures specifically.
October 31, 2019 2:02 a.m.
I cast another Nyxborn Shieldmate for W targeting either your already enchanted Nyxborn Shieldmate (both aura sheildmates become creatures) when you sacrifice the creature sheildmate for Blood Funnel .
Additionally, because the creature sheildmate was enchanted by an aura, it has Necromancer's Magemark raise dead effect returning it to my hand.
From this point I could cast the returned Nyxborn Shieldmate for W targeting one sheildmate, and sacrificing the other.
And I found this hiding: Bestow and Cost Modifications
I'm just making sure this part is correct: "So, by the time you get to applying Thalia, it’s a noncreature spell and will cost you 1 more. By the time you get to applying Heartless Summoning, it’s not a creature so you won’t get the discount."
I think I answered your question and brought it back around to my question in maybe too many words there lol.
October 31, 2019 2:50 a.m.
October 31, 2019 2:52 a.m.
So your saying Thalia adding 1 to the bestow cost and blood funnels cost reduction of 2 are two different effects, even though the both specify noncreature spell, because that is what I'm asking.
October 31, 2019 2:57 a.m.
DragonSliver09 I think he means to have a sac outlet aswell. You bestow a creature with bestow. Then sac the enchanted creature. It Will go back to the hand. The creature that was a aura becomes a creature. Use the bestow cost of the creature you returnd to your hand on the bestow creature on the battlefield. As long as you have a LOT of mana and another creature enchanted with Necromancer's Magemark and a sac outlet, you Will have this... Value engine?
October 31, 2019 2:58 a.m.
ok so i just read the link about cost reduction. thats pretty weird.
either way, none of the Necromancer's Magemark interactions you mentioned are specific to bestow creatures. the same thing can be done with any other creature.
when you say "From this point I could cast the returned Nyxborn Shieldmate for W targeting one sheildmate, and sacrificing the other.", that doesn't make any sense why you would do that. you end up back at square one, because you end with one shieldmate enchanted by another shieldmate, just like how you started. the only difference is the 3rd shieldmate went from hand to graveyard.
October 31, 2019 3:02 a.m.
using aura's on non-hexproof creatures is generally a bad idea anyway. you open yourself up to a "2 for 1" when your opponent hits the enchanted creature with removal, which is a loss of card advantage. this particular interaction you're going for is basically a 4+ card combo that doesn't really do anything. modern is too brutal of a format for that.
October 31, 2019 3:06 a.m.
What is your pay off in all this? Seems like a lot of hoops to jump through for nothing of value
October 31, 2019 3:31 a.m.
I have to agree a lot of work for not the greatest pay off.
I understand that if you have a bestow creature that has another creature bestowed on it (and a Necromancer's Magemark eleswhere). When your creature dies it returns to your hand and the aura on it becomes another creature (on which you can re cast your returned bestow creature) and then repeat. However, the weak point is one peice of removal hitting magemark ot the creature it enchants.
October 31, 2019 5:49 a.m.
I brew budget decks guys, I'm not looking to break a format here. Just wanted to know if the ruling worked the way I thought.
October 31, 2019 9:01 a.m.
a lot of us brew budget decks. we're not expecting you to come up with anything tier 1, but it just seems like you're trying to force an interaction that doesn't actually do anything.
October 31, 2019 11:29 a.m.
October 31, 2019 1:50 p.m.
Hey maybe he wants to get an engine for constellation value, or something like that, as a kitchen table it would be a fun brew.