Kiora - Killer of Krakens?
Posted on Dec. 1, 2019, 4:03 p.m. by match_lighter
So it is established that you cannot bring living things along with you as you planeswalk, right?
How does Kiora take giant monsters to other planes? Just a question I've wondered for a while, thanks for helping!
No, you can. Sort of. If your magic allows you to, you can. For example, Sarkhan is a Druid who's magical ability allows him to interact with, command, commune with, and even become a Dragon. So when Sarkhan visits another world, he can use his vast powers to draw Dragons into the world with him.
Saheeli, on the other hand, has magical abilities that allow her to shape metal like a fluid and control it with her mind. Basically, she can will metal into behaving certain ways and forming into certain designs. But she has no control over life.
Kiora, with all due respect, is very similar to Sarkhan in that she commands the giant creatures of the sea. So, as far as I know, she can pull creatures into other worlds with her.
If she can't, she can control the ones that already exist. She can also control the oceans and seas themselves, too. She's a bit like Aquaman, really.
December 1, 2019 5:02 p.m.
Kiora is awesome... as I understand it her magic as a planswalker acts a lot like how we as players act as planswalkers in the game... meaning us as players summon creatures throughout the multiverse to fight for us an kiora does the same, but apparently she needs to have been on the same plane as said beast/have psuedo tamed the monster prior to being able to summon and control it... hence her mission to venture to other planes to seek out giant sea monsters to fight the eldrazi.
December 1, 2019 6:20 p.m.
Sorry, Sarkhan is a Shaman*, not a Druid.
Druids deal with plant life, nature and leylines. Nissa is a Druid.
Shamans deal with creatures and life forces. So Haulti is also a Shaman. Kiora, in that respect, would also be a Shaman as well.
December 1, 2019 6:22 p.m.
, Kiora is seriously under-represented on the cards, in my opinion. That bident she is always seen with is literally the Bident of Thassa . She STOLE Thassa, God of the Sea 's weapon and Planes-moonwalked her booty right on out of there.
December 1, 2019 6:23 p.m.
Allow WotC to clear things up for me- Ajani's Pridemate ’s War of the Spark printing has the flavor text you need.
Basically what it’s saying is that planeswalkers can summon allies (which is what you’re doing whenever you cast a creature spell- remember, you’re a planeswalker in the canon of the game) from across the multiverse, not as the people themselves, but as memories. replicas. copies.
December 1, 2019 9:08 p.m.
I actually thought it was the real thing... like wasn't that the logic behind the legendary rule?
December 2, 2019 12:01 a.m.
Hmm, interesting, that seems like the most "logical" answer, thank you ZendikariWol.
December 2, 2019 12:31 a.m.
I always got over that with the notion that you may have seen many baloths or krakens or whatever... but you've only ever seen one Jace or Skitherix or... whatever legend. So you as a walker can't summon multiple unique things, but you can summon multiple non-unique things because you've seen multiples.
December 6, 2019 12:40 p.m.
I always thought non-ledendary things kinda fell into that category in the sense that Grizzly Bears were Grizzly Bears ... same species and given the same power toughness and mana cost because Magic as a Trading Card game isnt gonna be as crazy with individual states/values like Pokemon video games... so its generic for the sake of simplicity... and yet you were summoning an actual bear from another plane pseudo explaining why you can typically only have 4x of said bears in your deck to represent a sort of limited quantity/population and its transportation was the reasoning behind its "Summoning sickness."
but at the same time having Venser, Shaper Savant and Venser, the Sojourner on the battlefield at the same time could sorta make sense if the argument could be made that you were summoning "the actual thing" but from different timelines/different points in time/reality.... pre-spark ignition vs post spark ignition and things like that; which explains how "Gideon Tribal" could work.... because even though both Venser and Gideon are now cannonly dead... we can still summon a past versions of them.
This is why I had trouble with the changes made to the Legendary Rule allowing for me to have a Jace, the Mind Sculptor on the battlefield and then to allow for my opponent to cast his own Jace, the Mind Sculptor to the battlefield without causing mine to "blow up" .... otherwise... why cant we all have ten copies of JTMS on the battlefield?
Mother of god I am proofreading this and seeing my glaring dorkness.... I apologize.... to everyone...