"Cartouche" isn't a creature type so you can't name it with Arcane Adaptation.
September 8, 2017 4:56 p.m.
Can't you just name whatever you want? That's what I always thought. So I can't say Microwave for the creature type since there aren't any of them in the game?
September 8, 2017 4:59 p.m.
Shwang Choose a creature type. You can only choose from available options. If its not a creature type it cant be chosen.
September 8, 2017 5:29 p.m.
I see what you're saying. The word 'choose' indicates that you can't make one up, but must choose from available creature types. But how do you know what those are? It's obviously not just ones on the battlefield. Maybe ones that are in the meta? If I were playing Standard, could I choose Ape because it has been made before, even though it's not in Standard?
September 8, 2017 5:45 p.m.
Shwang I think i was wrong in my previous comment, you can choose anything you want. Naming "cartouche" wont do what you want tho, as it would only effect the creature type "cartouche", not the enchantment type.
September 8, 2017 5:54 p.m.
But the trials just say "When a Cartouche enters....", so I don't get why it wouldn't work. Just curious :)
September 8, 2017 5:59 p.m.
Shwang I get whats confusing you :). The thing is that the way Arcane Adaption is worded it only counts creature types. Enchantments doesn't have a creature type. It says "... the same is true for creature spells..." which excludes the cartouche cycle as they are enchantment spells.
September 8, 2017 6:05 p.m.
No, you were correct initially, smackjack; you can only choose existing creature types. The Gatherer rulings for other cards that require you to choose a creature type such as Cavern of Souls make it explicit: "3/14/2017 You must choose an existing creature type, such as Zombie or Warrior. Card types such as artifact cant be chosen."
And, Shwang, you can choose any creature type in Magic, regardless of whether there any cards with that type legal in the format. The creature types are actually explicitly listed in one of the rules:
September 8, 2017 6:22 p.m.
September 8, 2017 6:30 p.m.
Yeah, that's not a legal choice, unfortunately, although I think you'll have a hard time finding an opponent who will call a judge on you for that one.
September 8, 2017 8:27 p.m.
Lame_Duck Interesting. Also, Oklahoma should be a creature type, like "Oklahoma Homunculus".
Speaking of naming things: There was one example of how vague you can be when naming a card with Phyrexian Revoker. According to the judge "that 3 mana black planeswalker bitch" is enough to name Liliana of the Veil :). Ever since I heard that, that what i say when i want to revoke lili :)
September 8, 2017 8:37 p.m.
smackjack If you want to just make your changeling uncountable you could always name Rigger as your creature type.
September 9, 2017 2:02 p.m.
Thanks for the info guys. I didn't know you had to choose one from a list!