Creatues That Work Well With Archetype of Finality ?
Posted on Dec. 2, 2019, 8:13 p.m. by theindigoeffect
Is there anything else (especially creatures) that can really exploit Archetype of Finality in Rakdos?
theindigoeffect: This thread was moved from the Rules Q&A forum to the Deck Help forum. The Rules Q&A forum is intended to be for questions about game rules, tournament rules, and the details of specific card interactions. Your question about deckbuilding advice is much better suited for the Deck Help forum instead.
December 2, 2019 9:08 p.m.
I like where your head is at! I wish Archetype of Finality wasnt that just seems too high
December 2, 2019 9:28 p.m.
Chandra's Ignition if you're not worried about your own critters.
December 2, 2019 9:47 p.m.
December 2, 2019 10:33 p.m.
Literally everything with first strike.
Though my favorite is Deathbringer Thoctar . Once one creature dies, or you somehow put a +1/+1 counter on it by some other means, it's an instant and full wrath.
Give it some hexproof and suddenly you have a lock on the game.
December 3, 2019 4:04 a.m.
December 3, 2019 5:50 a.m.
The interaction between Trample and Deathtouch would let you get a lot of damage across easily.
So, Ball Lightning ?
December 3, 2019 11:07 a.m.
Or, would they only need to do 1 deathtouch damage, allowing the rest of the damage to go through?
I just need to know so I can actually explain it in-game to anyone who doesn't understand.
December 3, 2019 3:04 p.m.
@theindigoeffect hopefully I can explain this right, otherwise someone else can jump in
Trample only cares about the amount of damage that would be lethal for a creature. So trample recognizes that the deathtouch only needs to deal 1 dmg to kill it, and let's the other 5 dmg roll over
Now this all happens BEFORE things like Indestructible are taken into account. It still recognizes that the 1 dmg should kill the creature, so a 6/1 deathtouch trampling creature will still roll 5 damage over to the player even if blocked by a 10/10 indestructible creature
December 3, 2019 4:14 p.m.
Yes, a creature with trample, in damage assignment, needs to direct lethal damage to a blocker, and all excess damage will trample over. By definition, if you're dealing with deathtouch, any damage done will be lethal damage, so a creature with both trample and deathtouch will need to assign just 1 damage to each creature blocking it, and all remaining damage available will trample through to the face.