Please help a noob understand sylvan library

Commander (EDH) forum

Posted on Oct. 13, 2018, 8:50 a.m. by Vman

So i recently aquired a pretty pretty Sylvan Library but its a littlebit confusing.

So i draw, then draw 2 more. Can i choose to put the first card i drew back onto the deck and put the third card into my hand? Is that a legal choice?

Can i pay life for the 3rd card, take the first card for free and put the 2nd ontop?

Sorry ^.^

abby315 says... #2

Yes. Instead of drawing 1 card on your draw step you draw 3, all at the "same time." Hold on to those 3, because you have a decision to make (you cannot put them into your hand and then put some cards back - you could cheat and put back a card you didn't draw as part of Sylvan Library's effect).

You can choose any 2 of those 3 cards drawn and put them back on top in any order, then keep the one as your card drawn for the turn, costing you 0 life. You've effectively Anticipated, except you put them back on top not on bottom.

Or, you can choose two or more to keep, and pay 4 life per extra card drawn (for a max of 8 life, draw the two additional cards, put 0 back).

The order of cards drawn (whether 1st or 3rd) doesn't matter with regards to making the choice, because you draw them all from the same effect at the same time. (When it says "at the beginning of your draw step," it's referencing the card you're drawing for turn, because that's when that action happens - that's why it says "two additional.")

Does that make sense?

October 13, 2018 10:30 a.m. Edited.

Vman says... #3

Thank you good sir. That was an extremely clear explenation and its all crystal clear now. Very much appreciated!

October 13, 2018 9:41 p.m.

Please login to comment