Non creature legendaries that become creatures as your commander?
Posted on March 13, 2017, 2:42 a.m. by SaltySpecula
Firstly, this is not about the legality of using them. Currently unless the card says to the contrary, your commander must be a creature.
That being said, how would people here feel about the motion of Wizards making certain legendary cards that have their own internal mechanic to become or create a creature being allowed as commanders? Example Genju of the Realm or Dark Depths
Would you feel like that adds to the game? Too gimmicky? Too risky? Not interesting enough?
It could easily happen in years to come....look @ the 2014 commander cycle. This is also weird ground as wotc & their R&D create all the precon commanders and the dozen or so cards per year "only printed in commander ever," kind of cards....but the DCI has nothing to do with the banlists or offical rules...which is hardly ever touched.
March 13, 2017 2:53 a.m.
I believe that a creature should remain the commander. It just makes sense that your forces are led by an individual capable of cognitive thinking :p
Yes, there is the planeswalker cycle that can be commanders and although I don't find that unappealing, I still think it was a mistake. I mean why is X allowed to play with Teferi while Y can't play with Koth? it creates a discrepancy that is unnecessary to how this beautiful format is played!
I'm still ok with making exceptions within playgroups! For example, I wouldn't mind if someone wanted to run a Genju deck since it's kinda flavourful and it's a multicoloured inter-dimensional toad that needs a land to anchor itself. Someone coming over with a deck headed by Dark Depths: NO! A commander for 0 that can be abused to spit 20/20 flying indestructibles as early as turn 1...
March 13, 2017 3:17 a.m.
Where exactly are you going to find a commander legal way to generate 30 mana on turn 1? And with the legendary rule there can only ever be one at a time.
March 13, 2017 3:23 a.m.
Panas a Dark Depths deck would be colorless though, so vampire hexmage wouldn't be possible.
March 13, 2017 4:38 a.m.
ah! I misunderstood then :)
i thought the commander would be the token effectively. If that's the case, I'd be ok with it as an exception as well.
But aren't we taking the discussion away from topic?
How would people here feel about the motion of Wizards making certain legendary cards that have their own internal mechanic to become or create a creature being allowed as commanders?
To that, my opinion remains as is: I believe that a creature should be the commander.
March 13, 2017 7:36 a.m.
The only exceptions I could see to commanders are as follows:
I believe all planeswalkers should be legal as commanders (and if one or two are too oppressive as commanders, then add them to the banlist).
I have no opinion one way or the other regarding creatures that start out nonlegendary, but then become legendary.
Noncreature/nonplaneswalkers, even if legendary and provide a creature later (such as Elbrus, the Binding Blade Flip) shouldn't be allowed as commanders. Not because of power reasons, but because of flavor reasons.
March 13, 2017 8:32 a.m.
My friends allow me to use Genju of the Realm, but part of what convinced them is that it's only possible function is as a creature...and one that can't do commander damage at that (given the land, not my commander Genju, is dealing the damage). But it felt more flavorful and appropriate to helm an all-enchantment EDH deck than any other 5-color option.
March 13, 2017 10:58 a.m.
It honestly just depends on your friend-group whether they allow it. Although I do agree that certain flavor reasons should be held in regard. It makes no sense for an army to be led by a sword or a river with a frozen creature in it.
March 13, 2017 11:08 a.m.
i don't think all Legendaries should be usable as commanders but I do think it is weird not to be able to use any walker. Legendary creatures and walkers would make sense as both are fully cognitive characters that would lead armies. Anything else I feel is kinda pushing it.
March 13, 2017 2:14 p.m.
I wish Planeswalkers could be commanders. I don't think a land that becomes a token should though.
March 13, 2017 5:11 p.m.
I actually was thinking this very same idea... Pretty funny to see a post on the exact idea that came to my mind awhile ago (well, almost the same concept idea).
For Example: Elbrus, the Binding Blade Flip, he'd make a great card to use as a Commander BUT... first he's an "Legendary Artifact: Equipment" that flips into his "Legendary" Creature self. Which flips from colorless into black. So he'd be a awesome sounding black/Swamp Commander to play around with.
Well what if we all tried this...
Pay the required amount of converted mana cost of the said card, it enters battlefield as that spell; Creature, Artifact, Land, Equipment, so on as so forth.
In order to activate its flip or "Transformation" ability you'd be required to for it to flip you must activate its said abilities in full which would make it flip then becoming "Legendary" and thus becomes your Commander.
Well, what if it gets destroyed somehow??? It goes back to it's Command Zone as any other "Commander" card would (or in your hand) then repeat the process + 2 additional (converted) mana cost(s) to cast it again.
4.Normal Commander rulings pretty much round-about. Basically, it'd be like a "Sneak Attack" Commander.
It may sound crazy or corny but i thought it would be a really cool new concept and rule to MTG and EDH/Commander.
May 19, 2017 10:31 a.m.
May 19, 2017 10:35 a.m.
Honestly, I also don't see why something like Whip of Erebos lore wise couldn't be a 'commander'. Makes perfect sense that a cult sprung up around the whip and the whip is what ties the cult together.