pie chart

You have been freed of weakness and made compleat.

Commander / EDH Battlecruiser Mono-Black Multiplayer Pox Reanimator Stax

areos17


Description

Opponents shouldn't be allowed to have permanents...

Behold Blessed Perfection.
"Kill a creature, destroy the present.
Kill the land, destroy the future."
-Kaervek

Click here if you like the deck!+1

This deck embodies the spirit of how magic was meant to be played in my opinion. It doesn't play nice with others. It wants to get rid of their permanents and only let itself recover from the hell it's created. It has no problem loosing a few of its own lands or creatures in the process, hell, it wants to have a few creatures in the graveyard to play its shenanigans with Sheoldred, Whispering One.

It has come up multiple times now that people have questioned the legality of Crypt Ghast in this deck. In an effort to nip any further questions in the butt here are the rules pertaining to it.

Rule 903.4

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with acertain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in thatcards mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (seerule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).
Example: Bosh, Iron Golem is a legendary artifact creature with mana cost 8 and theability 3R, Sacrifice an artifact: Bosh, Iron Golem deals damage equal to thesacrificed artifacts converted mana cost to target creature or player. Boshs color identityis red.
903.4a Color identity is established before the game begins.
903.4b Reminder text is ignored when determining a cards color identity. See rule 207.2.
903.4c The back face of a double-faced card (see rule 711) is included when determining a cardscolor identity. This is an exception to rule 711.4a.
Example: Civilized Scholar is the front face of a double-faced card with mana cost2U. Homicidal Brute is the back face of that double-faced card and has a red colorindicator. The cards color identity is blue and red.

Rule 204

204. Color Indicator
204.1. The color indicator is printed to the left of the type line directly below the illustration. It consistsof a circular symbol filled in with one or more colors. A color indicator is usually found on nonlandcards without a mana cost.
204.2. An object with a color indicator is each color denoted by that color indicator.

Rule 207.2

207.2. The text box may also contain italicized text that has no game function.
207.2a Reminder text is italicized text within parentheses that summarizes a rule that applies to thatcard. It usually appears on the same line as the ability its relevant to, but it may appear on itsown line if it applies to an aspect of the card other than an ability.
207.2b Flavor text is italicized text that, like the illustration, adds artistic appeal to the game. Itappears below the rules text.
207.2c An ability word appears in italics at the beginning of some abilities. Ability words aresimilar to keywords in that they tie together cards that have similar functionality, but they haveno special rules meaning and no individual entries in the Comprehensive Rules. The abilitywords are battalion, bloodrush, channel, chroma, cohort, constellation, converge, councils dilemma, delirium, domain, fateful hour, ferocious, formidable, grandeur, hellbent, heroic,imprint, inspired, join forces, kinship, landfall, lieutenant, metalcraft, morbid, parley, radiance,raid, rally, spell mastery, strive, sweep, tempting offer, threshold, and will of the council.

Quoted from: http://magic.wizards.com/en/game-info/gameplay/rules-and-formats/rules

Suggestions

Updates

Comments View Archive

My guess is you don't. You simply ignore them, reanimate your fatties, and hit them again and again.

December 23, 2016 4:32 a.m.

areos17 says... #2

I don't seeTajuru Preserver or Sigarda, Host of Herons in my group. If I were to, chances are I would assemble a team of fatties and start swinging at them mercilessly.

December 23, 2016 1:29 p.m.

iti136 says... #3

Crypt Ghast is not legal in this deck because it has hybrid black and white mana for it's extort cost and your commander is mono black.

December 28, 2016 6:02 p.m.

areos17 says... #4

iti136

Rule 3 quoted for you.
"A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's rules text. A card's colour identity is established before the game begins, and cannot be changed by game effects.

Details:
Lands whose type includes swamp, island, plains, forest and/or mountain (e.g.: basic lands, shocklands, dual lands, Shadowmoor special-basics, etc) also have the corresponding colour identity. As such, they may not appear in a deck unless the Commander is also of the appropriate identity.

While hybrid mana symbols may be played with either colour mana, they contribute both colours to the card's colour identity. Therefore they may only be played with a Commander whose identity includes ALL of the hybrid symbols' colours.

Basic land words (swamp, forest, etc) in the text box of a card do NOT represent a coloured mana symbol. They are not restricted to a Commander of the same colour identity.

Reminder text is not included in the colour identity of a card.

The back face of a double-faced card is included when determining a card's colour identity.Cards in a deck may not have any colours in their color identity which are not shared with the commander of the deck. (The identity of each card in the deck must be a subset of the Commander's)"

December 28, 2016 6:25 p.m.

iti136 says... #5

"While hybrid mana symbols may be played with either colour mana, they contribute both colours to the card's colour identity. Therefore they may only be played with a Commander whose identity includes ALL of the hybrid symbols' colours" Sheoldred, Whispering One is the commander who is mono black meaning it does not contain the all of hybrid's symbols in this case white.

December 28, 2016 6:59 p.m.

iti136 says... #6

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that cards mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

December 28, 2016 7:01 p.m.

lucal13 says... #7

iti136

It is perfectly legal to use Crypt Ghast because the hybrid mana symbol is in the REMINDER TEXT and not the mana cost OR rules text as areos17 pointed out.

If it were a card such as Nobilis of War or Alesha, Who Smiles at Death you would be correct.

December 28, 2016 7:24 p.m.

iti136 says... #8

Ah I didn't see that it was in reminder text my bad!

December 28, 2016 7:27 p.m.

Liliana of the Dark Realms might be a good inclusion for Swamp ramping, hard removal and buff.

Rune-Scarred Demon is a powerful tutor that gets better if you sacrifice it for additional effects so that Sheoldred can reanimate him again later.

Diabolic Tutor as an additional tutoring effect.

Bloodgift Demon is a Phyrexian Arena on a stick, and is less susceptible to removal due to Sheoldred.

Magus of the Coffers provides massive amounts of ramp, which is important in this high-curve decklist.

Jet Medallion is another card that helps cut back on costs.

Black Sun's Zenith should be considered as another boardwipe.

Erebos, God of the Dead keeps lifegain players in check and provides plenty of card advantage.

December 29, 2016 6:35 p.m.

Goldenbelmont says... #10

The Crypt Ghast wouldn't be legal. The Extort ability requires either White or Black to be paid. Making it a White/Black Identity.

January 6, 2017 2:30 a.m.

areos17 says... #11

Since the symbol appears in the reminder text it is legal. Reminder text doesn't count towards the color identity of a card.

January 6, 2017 7:26 a.m.

ComboCrazy says... #12

le gasp

Why are you not using No Mercy? Seems like it'd be pretty broken, or am I missing something?

Also is crypt ghast legal? I know reminder text doesn't contribute to color identity, but does extort use the hybrid mana in its oracle text?

January 7, 2017 1:48 p.m.

areos17 says... #13

I don't play No Mercy because my friends don't have any mercy either they'll gladly swing in anyway. As far as Crypt Ghast goes it only uses the keyword extort in its oracle text.

January 7, 2017 2 p.m.

ComboCrazy says... #14

Lol okay yeah if it doesn't prevent any damage why run it.

Yeah, I wasn't sure about that, I thought I'd ask. Good luck with the deck! :)

January 7, 2017 2:03 p.m.

areos17, at this point, just put a big reminder up on the description about Crypt Ghast :/

January 7, 2017 2:57 p.m.

areos17 says... #16

haha I know right...

January 7, 2017 4:05 p.m.

Dpooser says... #17

Helldozer for land hate and Gonti, Lord of Luxury just for fun.

January 7, 2017 5:12 p.m.

Entrei says... #18

why no Sinkhole? Other than that, really solid deck. Aside from the occasional Iona, very well made. May i recommend Grimoire of the Dead?

January 7, 2017 8:48 p.m.

Theblacula says... #19

Doesn't physician obliterator hurt you?

February 23, 2017 10:20 p.m.

PookandPie says... #20

Phyrexian Obliterator isn't the same as Phyrexian Negator. Obliterator is basically a, "I dare you to cast that Blasphemous Act or swing into me" card, so I don't see how it hurts him at all.

Toxic Deluge is a card I don't think you should run without, as far as suggestions go. The life cost just has to be tailored to the highest power you want to kill, and it costs far less than many of your other options.

Beseech the Queen is a nice, cheap tutor that you may be able to take advantage of. Cruel Tutor is another if you don't care about price so much.

May 23, 2017 11:18 p.m.

Please login to comment





Compare to inventory
Date added 1 year
Last updated 3 weeks
Legality

This deck is Commander / EDH legal.

Cards 100
Avg. CMC 3.95
Tokens 2/2 Zombie, 1/1 Faerie Rogue, 1/1 Human Cleric, 20/20 Avatar
Folders Awesome EDH, Commander Folder, commander decks?, edh, Interesting , Decks that look fun to play, Cool stuff, EDH, EDH Decks, build, See all 38
Top rank #14 on 2016-11-20
Views 12423

Revision 41 (3 weeks ago)

+1 Smokestack main
+1 Tangle Wire main
+1 Harvester of Souls main
-1 Harvester of Souls main
-1 Smokestack main
-1 Dark Depths main
+1 Dark Depths main
-1 Tangle Wire main
-1 Scroll Rack main
+1 Scroll Rack main

See all