Description

A very simple and effective burn deck with the added bonus of triple casting a spell.

Blistercoil Weird + Dual Casting = triple cast. With this combo Dual Casting does NOT copy the copy, instead it copies the initial spell twice. This does NOT create an infinite combo.

Here's an example of how the stack breaks down using Lightning Bolt to get a triple cast.

Lightning Bolt is cast. Blistercoil Weird 's effect goes on the stack. Activate Dual Casting and tap Blistercoil Weird . The copy of Lightning Bolt resolves, Blistercoil Weird resolves and untaps. Before the initial Lightning Bolt resolves pay 1 R, activate Dual Casting and tap Blistercoil Weird again to get a triple cast. Now imagine miracle Thunderous Wrath, 15 damage for 3 R.

MORE WEIRDNESS!

Ohthenoises I wash my hands of this weirdness

MinscAndBoo izzet trollface

Updates

Comments View Archive

Nice deck, and congrats on making top spot on May 7th. +1 from me.

May 11, 2013 4:41 a.m.

carysh says... #4

Also you can't triple cast w/ only Blistercoil Weird , because the Lightning Bolt has to resolve in order to untap Blistercoil Weird , and so you can't copy it a second time because the Lightning Bolt has already resolved.... But you COULD get a quadruple cast with some Reverberate s and Blistercoil Weird s, or you could use Isochron Scepter . Look at my deck.

May 14, 2013 7:44 p.m.

carysh says... #5

Basically, the triple cast doesn't work with only Blistercoil Weird and Dual Casting because the original Lightning Bolt has already resolved so you can't copy it again, and so has the copy of Lightning Bolt . But there are ways to get triple casts or greater, or just use replicate for infinite casts :)

May 14, 2013 7:47 p.m.

vishnarg says... #6

I tihnk this would be an awesome modern deck with the replacement of Chain Lightning for Magma Jet

May 14, 2013 8:15 p.m.

leveebreaker23 says... #8

You need Price of Progress if you're going legacy. Blood Moon is something else to consider as well. Both are used frequently in mono red.

May 14, 2013 10:45 p.m.

hamiam says... #9

@ carysh Triple casting does work with just Blistercoil Weird and Dual Casting .How would Lightning Bolt resolve before Blistercoil Weird 's untap ability? when you cast Lightning Bolt it puts Blistercoil Weird 's untap ability on the stack and the stack breaks down from top to bottom so Lightning Bolt would resolve last. After Blistercoil Weird 's untap ability resolves I get priority and dual cast the original Lightning Bolt because it has not resolved yet. The example I used in my description is exactly how it works.

May 15, 2013 12:36 a.m.

Staizer says... #11

@ carysh here is the ruling:The key is ruling 1, the third one is why it is not an infinite combo

May 15, 2013 4:29 a.m.

codyjamesfs says... #12

Solid deck, definitely more land to cast lots of spells. Maybe even a Flame Slash or two to get creatures out of the way, and Koth of the Hammer is fantastic for this sort of deck, if you like to play with planeswalkers.

May 15, 2013 1:46 p.m.

carysh says... #13

this would be an unlimited combo then.

May 15, 2013 4:28 p.m.

hamiam says... #15

@ carysh , Sadly it does not. Blistercoil Weird 's untap ability only goes on the stack when you cast an instant or sorcery spell. If I cast a Lightning Bolt the untap ability only goes on the stack once, meaning the second time he gets tapped he stays tapped. You can't combo out off a single spell. You need to cast multiple instants/sorceries in order to get his untap ability on the stack, which would cost a lot of mana.

May 16, 2013 12:32 a.m.

onthestack says... #21

You've got my vote. +1!

May 18, 2013 8:36 a.m.

carysh says... #22

I see. So the stack is like this: Lightning Bolt , then dual cast, then Blistercoil Weird 's ability after Lightning Bolt goes off the stack, and then dual cast again.

May 18, 2013 11:32 a.m.

Staizer says... #23

Lightning bolt, blistercoil weird ability trigger, tap weird, (copy lightning bolt) lightning bolt COPY resolves, blistercoil weird ability resolves, tap weird, (copy lightning bolt) lightning bolt COPY resolves, (blistercoil weird is still tapped here), lightning bolt resolves.

May 18, 2013 11:41 a.m.

shadow63 says... #24

Mizzium Mortars and Shock would be good additions to the deck andProdigal Pyromancer might work. but i really like the idea. love mono red +1

May 21, 2013 2:09 a.m.

carysh says... #25

guys dont say +1! b/c it means something in math. (factorials)

May 21, 2013 6:52 a.m.

Staizer says... #26

You have something against factorials? Are you a factorialist!? For shame sir, for shame!

May 21, 2013 7:55 a.m.

Nigrescence says... #27

1! is equivalent to 1. So it doesn't really mean much. Go ahead and say +1! everybody. This other guy is just silly.

May 21, 2013 12:09 p.m.

carysh says... #28

i was joking

May 21, 2013 2:21 p.m.

Nigrescence says... #29

I said you were silly, didn't I?

May 21, 2013 11:06 p.m.

WicKid52 says... #42

Echo Mage . That is all.

June 7, 2013 9:34 p.m.

40cal says... #47

Let's compare Flame Slash or Lava Spike WTF put in Flame Slash

January 3, 2014 11:38 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #48

Flame Slash = Creatures only
Lava Spike = Player only
Player only > Creature only.

January 3, 2014 11:50 p.m.

ElfKing says... #49

Great Deck! +1 From Me

It would be awesome if you would check out my elf deck Mono Green Elf Deck and see if you could give me any suggestions. I would love input from smart mtg players.

January 19, 2014 5:47 p.m.

Nigrescence says... #50

Seriously, if you take out Chain Lightning for a different burn spell then this deck will be Modern.

January 19, 2014 6:35 p.m.

p7fox says... #51

Lightning Bolt is cast. Blistercoil Weird 's effect goes on the stack. Activate Dual Casting and tap Blistercoil Weird . The copy of Lightning Bolt resolves, Blistercoil Weird resolves and untaps. Before the initial Lightning Bolt resolves pay 1 R, activate Dual Casting and tap Blistercoil Weird again to get a triple cast. Now imagine miracle Thunderous Wrath , 15 damage for 3 R.

I dont see how this works, the blistercoil would not untap because you arent casting a spell you are making a copy of lightning bolt.

August 2, 2014 5:41 p.m.

hamiam says... #52

p7fox Once you cast an instant or sorcery spell Blistercoil Weird does not automatically untap, his untap ability goes on the stack. The stack breaks down with the Copy of Lightning Bolt resolving first, then Blistercoil Weird 's untap resolves leaving the the initial Lightning Bolt ready to be copied again using Dual Casting , the copy resolves then the initial Lightning Bolt resolves causing 9 damage. Now that the initial Lightning Bolt has resolved and Blistercoil Weird is tapped the combo is over.

August 3, 2014 2:31 p.m.

p7fox says... #53

That makes a ton of sense and cleared up my confusion thanks I'm fairly new to magic +1 Cool Idea.

August 3, 2014 6:56 p.m.

hamiam says... #54

Np! ty

August 3, 2014 7:09 p.m.

There is actually an infinite combo in here: Blistercoil Weird + Double Casting + Manamorphose

May 25, 2015 8:46 p.m.

Claracat says... #56

No, b/c Blistercoil Weird's untap ability is not triggered by copies: they are created on the stack, they are not cast.

October 30, 2015 12:42 p.m.

Conwal says... #57

Are all of your decks trolly? lol

February 9, 2016 5:32 p.m.

hamiam says... #58

Conwal All but this one 8D

February 9, 2016 7:21 p.m.

Sergal says... #59

I love it, but Price of Progress over sk ullcrack any day. +1 nonetheless

May 9, 2016 4:25 p.m.

freakingShane says... #61

Okay, so I have thought about this a ton. Why can't you do more than a triple cast? Let's say you have a ton of red mana floating around, couldn't you continue to use Dual Casting until all your red mana is spent? Then the initial Lightning Bolt, or what have you, resolves?

Sorry for dragging you back out here! Just really curious because I would like to make a deck that utilizes this.

August 2, 2016 11:31 a.m.

Staizer says... #62

The reason is that there is only a single untap trigger on the stack, since there is only 1 spell being cast. The other two are copies of the spell, so they don't cause blistercoil to untap.

You CAN get more effects from additional illusionist's bracers or a rings of brighthearth and/or Strionic Resonator.

August 2, 2016 6:38 p.m.

freakingShane says... #63

I got it now! The untap is on the stack before the original spell is cast, so once the copy resolved, the untap resolves, which allows you to tap and copy the original spell one more time - making it a triple cast.

Finally I get it! Haha. Thanks Staizer!

August 2, 2016 6:53 p.m.

Staizer says... #64

Manamorphose + umbral mantle could Theoretically give you infinite red mana. With infinite ligthing bolts as well.

August 2, 2016 7 p.m.

Staizer says... #65

It would have to go like this in order for infinite mana/burn:

Play Illusionist's Bracers and Umbral Mantle.

Play Blistercoil Weird, attach Dual Casting to weird as well as bracers and mantle.

Cast Manamorphose for mana symbol 1mana symbol r untap trigger and original spell are on the stack. Pay mana symbol r to tap weird copying manamorphose twice, once for dual casting and once for bracers. This produces mana symbol 2rR. Untap trigger concludes, tap weird with mana symbol r, copying manamorphose twice, once for dual casting and once for bracers. You now have mana symbol 3rR, use the mantle to untap again by paying mana symbol 3, tap again paying mana symbol r, copying the spell twice, netting you mana symbol 2rR.

Ok, this would only work then if you had a recursion engine to get manamorphose and lighthing bolt back to your hand. This method of infinite mana worked a lot better in my head. Unless there is a less expensive untap engine?

August 3, 2016 12:54 a.m.

freakingShane says... #66

Umbral Mantle is the only untap engine that would work like this, I believe, Staizer.

Doing this infinity to pump up Blistercoil Weird and having a Rogue's Passage, or something to provide unblockability, would be crazy.

August 3, 2016 1:04 a.m.

thomasvaillan says... #67

uhm....? i don't know if you still read comments but this combo you are describing doesn't actually work.your weird only gets 1/1 if you "CAST" a spell. Creating a copy isn't CASTING the spell unless the ability actually says CAST THE COPY. i have a similar deck and i made sure of this. thats why i took that enchantment out.

September 8, 2016 9:14 p.m.

thomasvaillan says... #68

uhm....? i don't know if you still read comments but this combo you are describing doesn't actually work.your weird only gets 1/1 if you "CAST" a spell. Creating a copy isn't CASTING the spell unless the ability actually says CAST THE COPY. i have a similar deck and i made sure of this. thats why i took that enchantment out.

September 8, 2016 9:14 p.m.

freakingShane says... #69

You are correct, thomasvaillan, you don't get copies from the copy, but that isn't what he is saying. The wording is a little confusing, and that's how I perceived it for the longest time, but here is actually what he says/means:

  1. You cast a spell.

  2. You pay , then tap, to copy that spell.

  3. The copy resolves and the casted spell resolves, which then triggers the weird, allowing you to pay , tap, and copy it for the third time.

Does that make more sense? If not, feel free to ask me more about it and I will do my best to help! :)

September 8, 2016 9:27 p.m.

freakingShane says... #70

Actually, I am mistaken on how I phrased this, thomasvaillan. I do apologize.

Let's use Blistercoil Weird for instance:

  1. Spell is cast. Blistercoil Weird's ability is put on the stack.

  2. You activate Dual Casting and tap Blistercoil Weird.

  3. The copy resolves, THEN Blistercoil Weird's untap ability triggers, which then allows you to activate Dual Casting for the third spell.

Again, I do apologize.

September 8, 2016 9:50 p.m.

thijmnesoy says... #72

i don't get the triple casting thing

September 13, 2016 10:27 a.m.

thomasvaillan says... #73

No worries FreakingShane i get it now :D.You should add "Isochron Scepter" or "Mizzix's Mastery" because they CAST the copies! could just keep the combo going if you have the mana.

September 13, 2016 10:30 a.m.

thomasvaillan says... #74

You might think about that wrong too, you might think you are trying to copy the spell that you first cast. But instead just use your weird to copy Isonchron Scepter's cast.

September 13, 2016 10:36 a.m.

thomasvaillan says... #75

Also making Magma Jet for the Scry would be a good add.

September 13, 2016 10:42 a.m.

Please login to comment





Compare to inventory
Date added 4 years
Last updated 1 year
Legality

This deck is Legacy legal.

Cards 60
Avg. CMC 1.40
Folders Other good ideas!, Decks foda!!!, Make These Stupid!, Fun Decks, Red, Cool red/blue decks not mine, maybe, Legacy, Awesome Decks, legacy, See all 118
Top rank #1 on 2013-05-07
Views 32091

Revision 24 (2 years ago)

See all